Threat of Rain

Made possible by Belisaria

Requested by teppan

This is the staff roll theme for Mystic Square.

Certain clues make me think that this is an MarixAlice song, narrated by Alice.

Some parts of the song feel like quotations but it would have been way too confusing and there wouldn’t be enough information for me to really tie lines down so I left them just as they were.

I might have to take a look at more of eerie’s lyrics, they certainly have this sort of individuality and fragmented feel to them that’s nice.

Notes:
Threat of Rain is like “it looks like there’ll be rain”.

“Before everything mixes together” is like the grey clouds mixing together in the sky and blotting out color.

Threat of Rain
Mystic Dream|東方怪綺談
Arranged by Syrufit/Poplica*
Lyrics by eerie
Vocal by Mei Ayakura
Circle: Syrup Comfiture
Album: over
Event: C80

深い森の奥に
隠された光のよう
触れてはもう目を逸らせない

fukai mori no oku ni
kakusareta hikari no you
furete wa mou me wo sorasenai

Like a light hidden
In the deep of a dark forest
One glance and you can never look away

遠い日々 どこかで
聞いた事のある声
言葉 風になり 突き刺さる

tooi hibi doko ka de
kiita koto no aru koe
kotoba kaze ni nari tsukisasaru

I hear a voice, one I’ve
Heard somewhere, long ago
The words become a wind stinging into me

信じていたよ
忘れていたよ

shin’jiteita yo
wasureteita yo

I believed in you!
I’d forgotten you!

あの日の夢を見るなら もう
消えてしまうと

ano hi no yume wo miru nara mou
kieteshimau to

If I’m going to dream of that day, then
I’d rather everything disappear

そうさ
わかっていた
僕の手ごときでは汚せないと
君の心 まだ軽く 僕を
弄んでる

sou sa
wakatteita
boku no tegotoki de wa yogosenai to
kimi no kokoro mada karuku boku wo
moteason’deru

After all
I knew
That hands like mine could never taint you
Even now, your heart is still
Toying with me

手を差し伸べる素振りで
また 何かを壊していくんだね
それでいいんだね

te wo sashinoberu soburi de
mata nani ka wo kowashiteikun’ da ne
sore de iin’ da ne

It might look like you’re just trying to lend a hand
But, you’re just going to break something again aren’t you?
But still, you don’t care do you?

鮮やかに 失われていく青色のよう
混ざり合う前に 傍にいて
鮮やかに 奪われていく鼓動 雨模様
混ざり合う前に 傍にいて

azayaka ni ushinawareteiku aoiro no you
mazariau mae ni soba ni ite
azayaka ni ubawareteiku kodou amemoyou
mazariau mae ni soba ni ite

Like a blue that’s brilliantly fading
Before everything mixes together, just be beside me
My pulse is brilliantly stolen away… It looks like there’ll be rain…
Before everything mixes together, just be beside me

信じてくれて
嬉しかったはずの

shin’jitekurete
ureshikatta hazu no

I should have been happy
That you believed in me…

あの日の夢を見るなら もう
消えてしまえと

ano hi no yume wo miru nara mou
kieteshimae to

If I’m going to dream of that day, then
I’d rather everything disappear!!

そうさ
望んでいた
僕の手ごときでも掴みたいと
君の心 まだ遠く 僕を
弄んでる

sou sa
nozon’deita
boku no tegotoki demo tsukamitai to
kimi no kokoro mada tooku boku wo
moteason’deru

You know,
All I wanted
Was for even hands like mine, to grasp you
Even now, your heart is still
Toying with me

ただ抱きしめる素振りで
また 何かを失くしていくんだね
それもいいかもね

tada dakishimeru soburi de
mata nani ka wo nakushiteikun’ da ne
sore mo ii kamo ne

It might look like you’re just embracing me
But you’re just going to lose something again aren’t you?
But still, that’s probably alright with you

わかっていた
僕の手 君の手と重ねたいと
君の言葉 まだ軽く 僕を
引き裂いていく

wakatteita
boku no te kimi no te to kasanetai to
kimi no kotoba mada karuku boku wo
hikisaiteiku

I knew
I wanted to take your hand in mine
Even now, your words still
Tear me apart

奪えるだけ奪ったまま
また 何かを探していくんだね
それがいいんだね

ubaeru dake ubatta mama
mata nani ka wo sagashiteikun’ da ne
sore ga iin’ da ne

After taking everything you could from me
You’re going to go searching for something else again, aren’t you?
But still, that’s what you want, isn’t it?

    • teppan
    • April 30th, 2012

    Thank you so much for the translation.

  1. Unrelated to the translation but I was wondering if you needed the scans for Trojan Green Asteroid, if you do I could upload them for you.

    • I got them already, but thanks :D – I’m in a post-surgery sort of physical stress, but I’m going to try to get a translation out for it as soon as I can.

    • Axel_M
    • April 30th, 2012

    Thanks for the translation man! I have a song I’d like to have translated (If you have time).

    Song: Visions of Love
    Vocals: Mei Ayakura
    Circle: I think it was [Studio “Syrup Comfiture” x Pizuya’s Cell]
    I love their songs :D

    Do you take links to sites that have the lyrics on it or prefer scans? (I’ll upload scans if needed…)

    [LYRICS] Studio “Syrup Comfiture” × Pizuya’s Cell – 君の歌と僕の小さな恋

      • Axel_M
      • April 30th, 2012

      scans if that makes it any better lol: http://i.imgur.com/DxW3T.jpg?1

    • I’m hesitant to take requests because I’ve got a kind of huge backlog of requests I have to get to eventually, but I really love that album, so I’ll try to get to that song soon.

    • Integral
    • May 2nd, 2012

    Thank you for the translation! I’ve been waiting for this one.

    • I’m glad I was able to do it – without Belisaria giving me scans I’m not sure I would have ever found the lyrics to it. D:

    • a.n.
    • August 8th, 2018

    Considering that this is literally the last song in the PC-98 series, the lyrics might also be referring to ZUN’s retconning of pre-EoSD stuff.

    “We had fun but everything we knew be gone soon. TIme to move on.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment