鉄塔 // Tettou

Requested by ME ;3

I love this entire album, but especially this song. It’s so surreal, and I just love city-scape stuff.

I tried a new font color. Does it work?

I’m planning on finishing at least one (if not two) actual requests before I go to sleep tonight, but I wanted to get this out first. Enjoy.

鉄塔
 Tettou
 Steel Tower
天空のグリニッジ|東方大空魔術
Vocals: うたしま
Arranged: Mano
Guitar and Bass: やよいちゃん (Girl’s short hair)
Circle: <echo>Project
Album: Mary Had a Little Love
Event: C81

夕暮れ染まる街
流れ照ってる車のライト
変わる気ない信号 路上青猫

yuugure somaru machi
nagare tetteru kuruma no light
kawaru ki nai shin’gou rojou aoneko

A city dyed in twilight:
Headlights shining through the traffic flow,
Streetlights that don’t feel like changing, blue street cats on the prowl…

紫の目の少女 路上やってるバンドのナンバー
自分が揺らぐ感じ 煙る眼差し

murasaki no me no shoujo rojou yatteru band no number
jibun’ ga yuragu kan’ji kemuru manazashi

A girl with violet eyes plays a number with her streetside band
In her clouded eyes you see she’s moving herself

赤と白の工場の煙突が 欄干のロープが
揺れている ゆらゆらら

aka to shiro no koujou no en’totsu ga ran’kan’ no rope ga
yureteiru yurayurara

The red and white factory smokestacks, the roped off railings
Sway back and forth – back and forth

痺れるような警鐘を吐いては 踏切の端
フェンスを揺すってる少女

shibireru you na keishou wo haite wa fumikiri no hashi
fence wo yusutteru shoujo

A paralyzing warning bell rings, where at the edge of the railcrossing
A girl shakes the fence

鉄塔ほら落ちるあの子
空中から見てるあたし
現実ほら虚ろな目で 風が頬殴る

tettou hora ochiru ano ko
kuuchuu kara miteru atashi
gen’jitsu hora utsuro na me de kaze ga hoho naguru

Look at the girl falling from that steel tower
I see her myself from midair
Look at reality, with emptied eyes, wind beating against my cheek

鉄骨打つ体の奥 脈打ってる 楽しそうに
心臓だけ拾い上げて 夕日に翳してる

tekkotsu utsu karada no oku myaku utteru tanoshisou ni
shin’zou dake hiroiagete yuuhi ni kazashiteru

As the metal frame strikes me, inside my body a pulse is beating excitedly
I pick up only my heart, and raise it to the setting sun

夕日に融ける橋
走り去ってくダンプのミラー
地表も揺らぐ感じ 歪む砂利道

yuuhi ni tokeru hashi
hashirisatteku dump no mirror
chihyou mo yuragu kan’ji yugamu jarimichi

A bridge melting into the sunset:
That mirror of trash racing away
It feels like the earth is shaking and the gravel paths twist…

残飯漁る少女 路駐鳴ってるバイクのブザー
墓標が並んだようなビル 伸びる影

zan’ban asaru shoujo rochuu natteru bike no buzzer
bohyou ga naran’da you na biru nobiru kage

A girl fishes for scraps of food and a motorcycle alarm rings from the street
The buildings raised up like gravestones lengthen their shadows

黒と白のコントラストが
見えないものが見えている ゆらゆらら

kuro to shiro no contrast ga
mienai mono ga mieteiru yurayurara

In the contrast of the blacks and whites
I can see things you can’t normally see, swaying back and forth

公園のベンチに臓物撒いては集るカラスに
殺意を向けてる少女

kouen no bench ni zoumotsu maite wa takaru karasu ni
satsui wo muketeru shoujo

A girl glares angrily at the crows crowding around
Entrails strewn over a bench

鉄橋ほら揺れるあの子
鉄塔から見てるあたし
鮮血ただ空ろな手で 掴む夕景

tekkyou hora yureru ano ko
tettou kara miteru atashi
sen’ketsu tada utsuro na te de tsukamu yuukei

Look at the girl swaying on that steel bridge
I see her from this steel tower
The sunset grasps the fresh blood with empty hands

鉄橋ほら見てるあの子
鉄塔から落ちるあたし
現実ほら虚ろな目で 風が頬殴る

tekkyou hora miteru ano ko
tettou kara ochiru atashi
gen’jitsu hora utsuro na me de kaze ga hoho naguru

Look at that girl from that bridge, watching
As I fall from this steel tower
Look at reality, with emptied eyes, wind beating against my cheek

鉄骨打つ体の奥 脈打ってる 楽しそうに
心臓だけ拾い上げて 夕日に翳してる

tekkotsu utsu karada no oku myaku utteru tanoshisou ni
shin’zou dake hiroi agete yuuhi ni kazashiteru

As the metal frame strikes me, inside my body a pulse is beating excitedly
I pick up only my heart, and raise it to the setting sun


    • Steven
    • February 3rd, 2012

    New font color works nicely; it stands out, is easy to read, and draws attention to the English words without overpowering the Japanese before and after it.

    • :D Yeah, I was worried my other reddish one was a little too light and a little too orange-y, so I added did a little -g+b on its rgb. :D

    • Marin
    • June 10th, 2015

    Kafka!
    In one of the last lines,
    it says “tekkyou hora miteru ano ko
    tettou kara ochiru atashi”
    and you translated it as, “Look at the girl falling from that steel tower
    I see her myself from midair”
    I love your work, by the way, you contextualize songs really well.
    But in that line, shouldn’t it be “Look at the girl watching over the steel bridge, I see her myself as I fall from the steel tower”? (just to keep the “style” of the song. But that “hora” is confusing @_@ what a weird place for an interjection..)
    Also, this album makes me really feelsy after all this time, it’s great.
    If possible, someday, I’d like to discuss interpretations with you! ahah~

    • Wah! I accidentally copied the a similar stanza! It is fixed!

      I really do love this song. I’m glad to revisit it, even if just to fix a mistake…

        • Marin
        • June 22nd, 2015

        Whoo~ you replied :D
        hahaha, it is a really small mistake though! In fact, I’ve heard this song many times (on youtube, with these very same lyrics) and hadn’t noticed it…
        btw, I’m gonna take this opportunity to express my admiration! (?) Honestly, not only are most songs that have RenMary plot translated by you (including the ones with the god-like singer merami <3), but you do an amazing job at translating them! I can tell, even with my limited knowledge of japanese. RD-sound's lyrics, specially, tend to be very cryptic!
        urgh. Now I feel like a fangirl of some sort… ;w;
        Anyway, I'd like to talk with you more. Certainly, you don't know anything about me so I don't expect you to have a similar interest, buut…Well, if you are bored someday, at least let me change that fact :B I'll drop my email adress here(in case wordpress doesn't already show it)
        lucia.pezman@gmail.com
        talk to you later! And, thanks for the reply :D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

