Septuor de écarlate // Scarlet Septet

^There are literally too many awesome pictures of Remilia out there, so I limited myself to a single artist so I wouldn’t flood this post :3

Requested by Belisaria

Happy Thanksgiving!
Be sure to eat lots of red stuff, like cranberries, cranberry pie, cranberry sauce, cranberry juice…

This song is probably my second favorite on the album, and while I may like “my sweet Vampress” more, this song is definitely the climax, and why not? There’s a reason 亡き王女の為のセプテット (Remilia’s Theme) consistently takes #1 or #2 in popularity polls for best original Touhou theme.

Notes:
Unfortunately I have no idea what the latin chanting is saying.
There are a lot of alternate readings in this song – many of them are the same like “symphony” but a lot of other ones have dual meanings, “reality” being more like “dream fantasy reality”.

Because of the structure of the first stanza (at least) I’ve decided to use classical English cases/pronouns. (I did a little research to make sure I was doing it right ^^;) Because you can see the first stanza as an introduction, I decided to keep the classic (early-modern) English there and go normal for the rest of it.

First stanza in non-fancy English:
O lamb, that which gives its dripping life
Relax your body and close your eyes
And I will give you peace…
^because of how “O ***” structures work, it’s easier to use the “older” pronouns, otherwise you have to shift it to third person ^^; Because it’s not like we use “O …” in modern English anyway, it’s more like “Hey YOU!” :P

“Excites my love” – alright it sounds a little weird I know, but I didn’t want to leave it at “excites me” because that would send too much of the wrong message. Think that hearing the voice (moan XD) brings a smile to the narrator’s (Remilia’s) face and makes her think, “Oh, how cute, how lovely are you.” (even if you want to attribute that to irony or sadism or what have you).

You can sort of interchange crimson with scarlet in the lyrics if you’d like. The word 紅 usually refers more to crimson (darker – like the font color I’m using) than to scarlet (brighter) but both crimson and scarlet fall under what I consider “deep red”. 朱 is more commonly used for “scarlet” but it’s actually more along the lines of “vermillion”. [Dark/Bluish]Crimson-Red-Scarlet-Vermillion[Bright/Orangish] If you want to get super technical you can look up “Red” on wikipedia or look at the cover of REDALiCE’s RED which has almost every shade of red with it’s Japanese counterpart XD.

“To what my crimson blood, these crimson flames seek, the universe above…”
^If it wouldn’t have made the line way too long I would have written “the sky above, the universe beyond”, as “sora” is written as “宇宙” or “universe”.

Septuor de écarlate
 Scarlet Septet
亡き王女の為のセプテット|東方紅魔郷
Vocal: ユリカ
Arranged by 8STYLE
Lyric by Blue E
Circle: Sound Holic
Album: Metallic Vampire
Event: M3-28

命の滴を捧げる羊よ
身を委ねて瞳を閉じなさい
安らぎをあげるわ

inochi no shizuku wo sasageru hitsuji yo
mi wo yudanete me wo tojinasai
yasuragi wo ageru wa

O lamb, who giveth thy dripping life
Relax thy body and close thine eyes
And I will give thee peace…

接吻の牙と震える首筋
触れ合う瞬間 漏れる声が
愛しみを擽る

kuchidzuke no kiba to furueru kubisuji
fureau toki moreru koe ga
itoshimi wo kusuguru

At that moment when these fangs drawn to kiss
Touch your shivering neck, the voice you let escape
Excites my love…

傾く夜空に彷徨う星屑が
終わりの刻限 飾り付ける
哀しげな宝石

katamuku yozora ni samayou hoshikuzu ga
owari no toki kazaritsukeru
kanashige na houseki

Stardust which wanders in the tilted night sky
Adorns this appointed end
O what sorrowful gems…

孤独を癒す諦めの炎を灯して眠れ
至福を越える残酷もある ようこそ 冥府へ

kodoku wo iyasu akirame no hi wo tomoshite nemure
shifuku wo koeru zankoku mo aru youkoso koko e

Now light the fires of a defeat which heals loneliness, and sleep
For there exist here cruelties greater than ecstasy… Welcome to this hell

あなたの犠牲で わたしは生きる
永遠に輝く虹色の交響曲
未来を殺して 過去を慰め
現在を切り裂く紅の哀歌

anata no ai de watashi wa ikiru
towa ni kagayaku nichiiro no symphony
asu wo koroshite kako wo nagusame
ima wo kirisaku kurenai no elegy

I live by your love and sacrifice
In this multicolored symphony, which shines for all eternity
Killing tomorrow’s future, easing yesterday’s past
Tearing apart today’s present, with this crimson elegy

色褪せた日々の埃を払えば
この心を黒く染めた理由は透けるけど

iroaseta hibi no hokori wo haraeba
kono kokoro wo kuroku someta riyuu wa sukeru kedo

Though if you were to dust off those past discolored days
You would see why I’ve stained my heart so black

呪われたまま微笑む夢が揺らめく調べ
気高く堕ちる煌きもある 全世界は 闇に

norowareta mama hohoemu yume ga yurameku shirabe
kedakaku ochiru kirameki mo aru subete wa yami ni

Cursed I smile to this melody that makes dreams shimmer
There is a brilliance in falling with pride… May the whole world, into darkness

罪を隠して 報いを願い
巡り過つ人の世の運命
痛みの中で 優しくなれる
抱き締めたのは滅びの幻実

tsumi wo kakushite mukui wo negai
meguri ayamatsu hito no yo no destiny
itami no naka de yasashiku nareru
dakishimeta no wa horobi no reality

Hiding their sin and praying for redemption
O the destiny of this world of humans constantly in error
When in pain, there are ways to find relief
What I embraced was a crumbling dream reality

今 世界の果てで眩しく燃える翼を拡げ
紅の血が 紅の炎が 求める宇宙へ

ima sekai no hate de mabushiku moeru tsubasa wo hiroge
kurenai no chi ga kurenai no hi ga motomeru sora e

Now, at the ends of the earth I spread my brightly burning wings
To what my crimson blood, these crimson flames seek, the sky above…

あなたの犠牲で わたしは生きる
永遠に輝く虹色の交響曲
未来を殺して 過去を慰め
現在を切り裂く紅の哀歌

anata no ai de watashi wa ikiru
towa ni kagayaku nijiiro no symphony
asu wo koroshite kako wo nagusame
ima wo kirisaku kurenai no elegy

I live by your love and sacrifice
In this multicolored symphony, which shines for all eternity
Killing tomorrow’s future, easing yesterday’s past
Tearing apart today’s present, with this crimson elegy

罪を隠して 報いを願い
巡り過つ人の世の運命
痛みの中で 優しくなれる
抱き締めたのは滅びの幻実

tsumi wo kakushite mukui wo negai
meguri ayamatsu hito no yo no destiny
itami no naka de yasashiku nareru
dakishimeta no wa horobi no reality

Hiding their sin and praying for redemption
O the destiny of this world of humans constantly in error
When in pain, there are ways to find relief
What I embraced was a crumbling dream reality

    • Zesan
    • November 24th, 2011

    Duuude, how can you prefer my sweet vampress to this? This is so awesome!

    • S.K.
    • November 25th, 2011

    Hmmm, are you sure the chorus is in Latin ? It sounds like German to me,though I’m not sure

    • I have no idea to be honest – when I hear mysterious chanting I assume Latin.

        • Mattattack77
        • May 29th, 2017

        I tried isolating the voice and running it through a speech-to-text in French (the language of the title), and got gibberish. It could be German, seeing as that is somewhat popular in Japan, but the way the R is pronounced and the lack of certain telltale sounds makes it unlikely. It sounds kinda like Latin (church pronunciation) and I can pick out a few words but I can’t understand it for the most part.

  1. This isn’t a request, this is just if you want to.

    If you’ve heard of the ar tonelico hymns, could you post your top 5 favorite? thanks

    • I actually only just barely know what ar tonelico is, so I don’t know anything about the music :x

  2. Found this album on e-bay, considering buying it so i can actually have a hard copy of this as its so awesome, only thing im worried about is it not being a genuine copy being e-bay and all, just wondering any tips for buying these CD’s?

    also can i second the request for U N OWEN on this album! the whole album is amazing…

    • I’ll be doing 紅夜の黙示録 tomorrow hopefully ;D
      Sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner – the auction’s probably closed by now isn’t it? D:
      I usually get all my stuff from Doujin sites (I usually use either Tora no Ana, Melonbooks, or D-Stage) using Goody-Japan’s proxy service – and I’ve only gotten stuff through ebay a few times. I know with figures you really have to worry about counterfeits, but I’m not so sure about CDs… It’d probably be ok.

    • ‘Sup, a Noob
    • November 30th, 2011

    “抱き締めたのは滅びの幻実”

    should be…

    “dakishimeta no wa horobi no reality”

    for all the parts it appeared in.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment