Spirited Away


^[Pixiv]

Renko Sumireko.
(Lack of glasses in the artwork threw me off.)

Remember the fear of your youth, so that you do not let curiosity kill you later.

I am not saying this is directly related in any way, but the nature of this song reminds me of when I saw my ailing great grandfather whose mind had reverted to a childhood state. He would often get frightened and try to escape, and was numerous times shocked and confused when he ever noticed again how old he was, either by looking in a mirror or at his hands.

Notes:
It may be unclear, but in the beginning Sumireko is talking about stars in the sky, but as if they were people.

There’s a bit of weird word play in the stanzas that begin with “Ah”:

aa
fureru kaiki:
(ah, supernatural things which touch me)
Also sounds like (overflowing supernatural things)
→ Supernatural things, of which there are so many, they are touching me.

yoreru kaiki:
(ah, supernatural things which can be a cause) ← very strange structure.
Tie this in that while supernatural things are often blamed for things, they can’t really be the cause.
But here, they can be.
Also sounds like (supernatural things creeping forth)
→ Supernatural things, creeping forth, all of which can bring me harm.

amane. kaiki:
(supernatural things all around) ← amaneku is cut off to be amane. It’s not exactly clear why. Could be just a syllable thing or a play on it raining.

Spirited Away
ラストオカルティズム~現し世の秘術師
Vocal: nayuta
Arrangement+Lyrics: RD-Sounds
Circle: 凋叶棕
Album: 音 -omoi-
Event: C92

黒く切り取られる空
全て知らない顔をして
見知ったものを探しても
あまりにも余所余所しく

kuroku kiritorareru sora
subete shiranai kao wo shite
mishitta mono wo sagashitemo
amari ni mo yosoyososhiku

The sky, as if cut from black cloth
Looks down with a face I know not
Even as I search for those I know
All look back distant and cold

物言わぬそれら全てが
おまえは誰だと訊いてくる

monoiwanu sorera subete ga
omae wa dare da to kiitekuru

All of those voiceless beings
Bluntly inquire, “Who are you?”

冷たい雨に肩を濡らしても尚
暖めてくれるものなど居ない
心細さに任せたとて
声を枯らす甲斐も無く

tsumetai ame ni kata wo nurashitemo nao
atatametekureru mono nado inai
kokorobososa ni makaseta tote
koe wo karasu kai mo naku

Even as cold rain falls on my shoulders,
There is no one here to give me warmth
Even if I were to give in to my despair
Wailing myself hoarse would do me no good

嗚呼
触れる怪奇
因れる怪奇
――遍。怪奇の只中に――嗚呼。

aa
fureru kaiki
yoreru kaiki
-amane. kaiki no tadanaka ni – aa

Ah.
The occult which can be touched.
The occult which can be a cause.
-All, in a sea of the occult – Ah.

あれ哭く声が聞こえるか
お前を狙うものがいる
何も知らぬ幼子さえ
生まれ持つ本能の警句

are naku koe ga kikoeru ka
omae wo nerau mono ga iru
nani mo shiranu osanago sae
umaremotsu hon’nou no keiku

Can you hear those cries in the distance?
“Something out there is hunting you.”
So sounds the sirens of my instincts
Fears even an infant would respond to.

此処に居てはならぬとして
何処へ行けるというのだろう

koko ni ite wa naranu to shite
doko e ikeru to iu no darou

Even if I must not stay here
Where do you expect me to go?

膝を抱えてひとりこの暗がりに
背中を預けてもただ硬く
その音その光景の限り
何をも信じられない

hiza wo kakaete hitori kono kuragari ni
senaka wo adzuketemo tada kataku
sono oto sono koukei no kagiri
nani wo mo shin’jirarenai

I hug my knees alone in the darkness
Wherever I lean is hard and stiff
As long as I hear what I hear, see what I see
There is nothing that I can trust or believe in

何も出来ずただそれのあることを知るばかり
己取り囲む世界を

nani mo dekizu tada sore no aru koto wo shiru bakari
onore torikakomu sekai wo

Unable to do anything, I only know something is out there
Only know the world is closing in around me

眠れ。眠れ。眠れ。眠れば。
きっといつもの暖かい手の中――!

nemure. nemure. nemure. nemureba
kitto itsumo no atatakai te no naka – !

Sleep. Sleep. Sleep. If you do,
Surely, you will be back in those warm arms again – !

眠るな。眠るな。眠るな。眠れば。
きっと二度と目は覚めない――!

nemuru na. nemuru na. nemuru na. nemureba.
kitto nido to me wa samenai – !

Don’t sleep. Don’t sleep. Don’t sleep. If you do,
Surely, you will never wake again – !

帰られる!
目を瞑れば全て消え去ってそして何もかも

kaerareru!
me wo tsumureba subete kiesatte soshite nani kamo

You can go home!
If you just close your eyes, then everything will disappear and everything will be…

嗚呼 ならない!
目を瞑っても何も消えてくれなどしないのだから!!

aa naranai!
me wo tsumuttemo nani mo kietekure nado shinai no dakara!!

Ah, no it won’t!
Even if you close your eyes, nothing will disappear, nothing will go away!!

どこまでも。続くこの暗闇の中
意の芯まで凍るその恐怖
いづれすべて忘れようと
その魂に刻み込め

dokomademo. tsudzuku kono kurayami no naka
i no shin’ made kooru sono kyoufu
idzure subete wasureyou to
sono kokoro ni kizamikome

Inside this endless darkness
In fear, freezing your very core
Even if you one day forget everything
Engrave this fear into your heart

嗚呼
触れる怪奇
因れる怪奇
――遍。怪奇の中。

aa
fureru kaiki
yoreru kaiki
-amane. kaiki no naka.

Ah.
The occult which can be touched.
The occult which can be a cause.
-All, inside the occult.

いつか遠き日に
出会うとき
夜の暗さを。思い出せ――。

itsuka tooki hi ni
deau toki wa
yoru no kurasa wo. omoidase -.

One day in the distant future
When we meet again
Remember the darkness of the night – .

  1. September 3rd, 2017

Leave a Reply

