嘔吐、又。 // Automata


Suggested by: Tempest of Sorrow

When I first listened to this song, the theme that immediately blared into my mind was “overwork”.

Notes:
The title is a play on words.

Almost every part with ellipses is almost completely scratched out in the lyrics booklet so I can’t confirm the translation in those parts.

The middle part starts off on a poem attributed to Miyako no Yoshika. (The second line is supposedly Ibaraki Douji’s answer to the first line.)

きはれてはかぜしんりうのかみをくしけづり、こほりきえてはなみきうたいのひげをあらふ。
気霽れては風新柳の髪を梳り、氷消えては波旧苔の鬚を洗ふ。
気霽風梳新柳髪。氷消波洗旧苔鬚。
都良香

ki harete wa kaze shin’ryuu no kami wo kushikedzuri
koori kiete wa nami kyuutai no hige wo arau

When the sky clears, the wind combs the hair of the new willow trees.
When the ice clears, the waves wash the beards of the old moss.

Revision: (The source of second half of the middle part has been identified)
流れいづる 方だに見えぬ 涙川 おきひむ時や 底は知られむ
nagareidzuru kata dani mienu namidagawa okihimu toki ya

A river of tears flows out from where cannot be seen
When its pools dry up, then will the depths be known
(Rough translation)

嘔吐、又。
 Automata
 Automata: I Vomit, Again.
リジッドパラダイス|東方神霊廟
Vocal: nayuta
Arrangement and Lyrics: RD-Sounds
Circle: 凋叶棕
Album: 音 -omoi-
Event: C92

意志のない身体を引き摺って
そのたびに、又。何かが崩れ落ちる

ishi no nai karada wo hikizutte
sono tabi ni, mata. nanika ga kuzureochiru

I drag my body, with no will, free or otherwise
With each pull, yet again. Something of me crumbles away.

与えられたその命令が尽きれば
そのたびに、又。ただの塵芥へと帰す

ataerareta sono code ga tsukireba
sono tabi ni, mata. tada no jin’kai e to kisu

Once the command codes given me expire
With each lull, yet again. I revert to a pile of garbage.

それに意味など宿らない
己を誰と知ることさえ

sore ni imi nado yadoranai
onore wo dare to shiru koto sae

In this state I have no meaning
I cannot perceive even who I am

けして止まぬ乾きを遺して
微かな執着
それが故にその身体を突き動かすのか

keshite yamanu kawaki wo nokoshite
kasuka na shuuchaku
sore ga yue ni sono karada wo tsukiugokasu no ka

What is left is an unrelenting thirst
A faint sense of attachment
Is it that which prods this body of mine on?

そうして、又。
なにも産み出さぬはずの器官
それが筈が 己の何かを繋ぎとめて

soushite, mata.
nani mo umidasanu hazu no nodo
sore ga hazu ga onore no nanika wo tsunagitomete

And so, yet again.
My throat, from which nothing should be produced
Somehow still, stitches together a remaining fragment of my self.

不明確な命令の途切れる度、又。
その幾度となく
――立ち尽くす。立ち尽くす。立ち尽くす。立ち尽くす。

fumeikaku na code no togireru tabi, mata.
sono ikudo to naku
-tachitsukusu. tachitsukusu. tachitsukusu. tachitsukusu.

Each time those indistinct command codes expire, yet again.
Each of those countless times…
―I freeze in my tracks. I freeze in my tracks. I freeze in my tracks. I freeze in my tracks.

き…はれては…
かぜ…しん…りゅうの…
はれて… くし…
け…づる…
なが…れいづる…
かただに…み…えぬ…
おきひ…むと…きや
そこは…しられむ

ki harete wa
kaze shin’ryuu no
harete kushi
-i -i kedzuru
nagareidzuru
kata dani mienu
okihimu toki ya
soko soko wa shiraremu

When… the sky clears…
The wind… in the willows…
Clears… combs…
Combs through its…
It flows… out… from…
Where… I can’t… even see…
When it dries up…
The depths the depths will be known…

バラバラの信号の寄せ集め
そのすべて、又。何をも企図さえ出来ずに

barabara no signal no yoseatsume
sono subete, mata. nani wo mo kito sae dekizu ni

I gather together scattered signals
With all of them, yet again. I cannot construct any aim

それが如何して何かを求めるよう
そのすべて、又。ある種の指向性

sore ga doushite nanika wo motomeru you
sono subete, mata. aru shu no shikousei

Then why, does it feel like there is something I seek?
With everything, yet again. I feel a form of direction

無秩序に重ねる言葉
けして戻りはしない記憶

muchitsujo ni kasaneru kotoba
keshite modori wa shinai kioku

My words layer upon inconsistencies
My memories will never again return

最後のその一息までとて
それは永遠に
喪われた何かを取り戻そうとして

saigo no sono hitoiki made tote
sore wa eien’ ni
ushinawareta nanika wo torimodosou to shite

Until when I take my final breath
That is, for all eternity
I try to take back what from within me has died

そうして、又。
けして埋まらない欠落を
埋めんが為 それに適うべき手段なら

soushite, mata.
keshite umaranai ketsuraku wo
umen’ ga tame sore ni kanaubeki shudan’ nara

And so, yet again.
To fill in deficiences which will never be filled
If it is for that purpose then by all means, by any method available, I’ll…

不明瞭な兆候の感じる度、又。
その幾度となく
――喰らい尽くす。喰らい尽くす。喰らい尽くす。喰らい尽くす。

fumeiryou na sign no kan’jiru tabi, mata.
sono ikudo to naku
-kuraitsukusu. kuraitsukusu. kuraitsukusu. kuraitsukusu.

Each time I sense those unclear possibilities, yet again.
Each of those countless times…
―I devour them. I devour them. I devour them. I devour them.

おまえは…だれ…わたしは?わたしは…だれ…わたしは?
わたしを…かえ…わたしを…わたしを…かえ…わたしを…

omae wa dare watashi wa watashi wa dare watashi wa
watashi wo kae watashi wo watashi wo kae watashi wo

Who are you? I am… Who am I? I am…
Keep me… Me… Command me… Me…

そうして、又。
意志なき哀れ自動死体
繰り返すは 己に耐え切れぬ暴食を

soushite, mata.
ishi naki aware automata
kurikaesu wa onore ni taekirenu boushoku wo

And so, yet again.
An aimless and pitiful corpse automata
Over which repeats an unbearable, unsatiable gluttony.

不完全な体流の過ぎたる度、又。
その幾度となく
嘔吐き戻す。嘔吐き戻す。嘔吐き戻す。嘔吐き戻す。

fukan’zen’ na kurou no sugitaru tabi, mata.
sono ikudo to naku
hakimodosu. hakimodosu. hakimodosu. hakimodosu.

Which each incomplete struggle, incomplete digestion, yet again.
Each of those countless times.
I vomit. I vomit. I vomit. I vomit.

  1. The theme of overwork didn’t come into my mind when I first listened to the song, but reading through the lyrics again with that in mind, it makes perfect sense! I feel like I’ve added another layer to my understanding of the song now. This track is definitely one of my favourites from the album, so thanks for doing an awesome job on the translation like always (^_^) I’m looking forward to reading how you interpret some of the other tracks from this album if/when you get the chance…!

  1. October 7th, 2017

Leave a Reply

