Re:Re:

I’ve been having a translation block at the worst possible time, so I decided to translate a song for a change of pace. I watched Erased/Boku dake ga Inai Machi – It was recently brought to my attention when I saw the trailer for the live action version in theaters. I used to listen to AKFG a lot back in high school and early college (before Touhou), so I knew the OP immediately (even though it was a different version than what I was used to) and was surprised I hadn’t translated this song before.

Sugita Hiromi was the cutest.

Re:Re:
ASIAN KUNG-FU GENERATION
作詞:後藤正文
作曲:後藤正文/山田貴洋

君を待った
僕は待った
途切れない明日も過ぎて行って
立ち止まって振り返って
とめどない今日を嘆き合った

kimi wo matta
boku wa matta
togirenai ashita mo sugiteitte
tachidomatte furikaette
tomedonai kyou wo nagekiatta

I waited
I waited for you
Each tomorrow passing me by, one after the other
Where the me from tomorrow stopped and looked back
Lamenting my endless present days, and I lamented back

記憶だって 永遠になって残らないものとおもい知って
僕はずっと掻きむしって 心の隅っこで泣いた

kioku datte towa ni natte nokoranai mon’ to omoishitte
boku wa zutto kakimushitte kokoro no sumikko de naita

Having learned the hard way that even memories aren’t gonna last forever
I curled up in a corner of my heart and cried, scratching and tearing at myself

そしてどうかなくさないでよって
高架下、過ぎる日々を
後悔してんだよって そう言い逃したあの日

soshite douka nakusanaide yo tte
kouka shita, sugiru hibi wo
koukai shiten’ da yo tte sou iinogashita ano hi

“Please don’t lose these memories”, I cried
Under the bridge, at each passing day
That day I should have told you, “I regret everything”

繋ぎ合った時もあった
ほどけない感情持ち寄って それが僕のすべてだった
それもたった今 失くしたんだ

tsunagiatta toki mo atta
hodokenai kan’jou mochiyotte sore ga boku no subete datta
sore mo tatta ima nakushitan’ da

There was once a time when we were connected
We each had these firm emotions for one another, and that was everything for me
But even those emotions, I’ve lost them now

形だって 時が経って変わりゆくものとおもい知って
僕はずっと掻きむしって 塞がれた今日を恨んだ

katachi datte toki ga tatte kawariyuku mono to omoishitte
boku wa zutto kakimushitte fusagareta kyou wo uran’da

Having learned the hard way that with time, even the form of things changes
I cursed these days I just can’t seem to get past, scratching and tearing at myself

そしてどうかなくさないでよって
高架下、過ぎる日々を
後悔してんだよって そう言い逃したあの日

soshite douka nakusanaide yo tte
koukashita, sugiru hibi wo
koukai shiten’ da yo tte sou iinogashita ano hi

“Please don’t lose these memories”, I cried
Under the bridge, at each passing day
That day I should have told you, “I regret what I did”

君を待った
僕は待った
途切れない明日も過ぎて行って
僕は今日も掻きむしって 忘れない傷をつけているんだよ
君じゃないとさ

kimi wo matta
boku wa matta
togirenai ashita mo sugiteitte
boku wa kyou mo kakimushitte wasurenai kizu wo tsuketeirun’da yo
kimi ja nai to sa

I waited
I waited for you
Each tomorrow passing me by, one after the other
Where again today I scratch and tear at myself-You see, I’m making a wound so I can’t forget
That it can’t be anyone but you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

