Anticipating C88

^The winner of best album cover so far.^

Music

死際サテライト (Shinigiwa Satellite) – Witness EP [セ27b] [*]

I hear there a few people out there (Releska) that don’t seem to understand the greatness of Shinigiwa, but I’m sure they’ll come around one day. Maybe they’re too young to have spent their youths listening to punk and emo and stuff that Shinigiwa reminds us of.

Both tracks will probably be on my next car CD.

凋叶棕 (Diao ye Zong/RD-Sounds) – 喩 -tatoe- [シ23a] [*]

An album of “What If”s.

It still pains me I haven’t translated all of 求, and while 奉 didn’t really speak to me (yet), RD will always stay at the top of my list. I can’t wait to experience the tracks one by one. I almost make a point to not listen to the crossfade all that much because it almost seems wrong to listen without lyrics in front of me, but カ-210号の嘆き and はじまりのワイゲルト at least, I’m looking forward to tackle first. Everything sounds great though, of course.

In any case, this music always brings me to tears. So if you’ve been under a rock for the past decade and haven’t had me say this before, go take a look at everything RD has ever done.

発熱巫女~ず (Hatsunetsumiko’s) – Girls in the Mirror [シ-28a] [*]

Disco+RenkoxMerry? Yes, please. “Carry On” especially just makes me happy.

荒御霊 (Aramitama) – Divided Innerworld [セ-01ab] [*]

Lately I’ve been addicted to Aramitama like he’s feeding me a black poison. It all started with this: [HADES] and 心娶 Kokorometry which I happened to pick up because I thought the pun was awesome enough that it demanded my money. (Kokorometry’s a little hardcore for me tbh)

This one feels even more accessible than “and the fictions of reality” so give it a listen.

梶迫小道具店 (Cajiva’s Gadget Shop) – Sept Florum [セ-01ab] [*]

Hifuu Tribal House. Yep.

I’ve been addicted to Cajiva lately for similar reasons, but my intro drug was loli Renko and 水なき海を往く.

I don’t like everything Cajiva puts out, but this feels like En-shou (which I still have to read) with just a little more tribal and hifuu so its definitely got my seal of approval.

Demetori – 愧人贖悪 ~Evil People as the True Object of Salvation~ [シ24b] [*]

MORE DEMETORI.

I don’t think anything will ever up “曼衍珠汝華 ~ Nada Upasana Pundarika”, but this (like le Grimoire De reve) may come close. Speaking of which, excuse me while I listen to that album for a while…

ぴずやの独房 (Pizuya’s Cell) – 飛天少女ノ窓際 [シ27b] [*]

MORE GODWOOD. HOW DID I MISS THE LAST ALBUM? I’M STILL HITTING MYSELF OVER THAT. The pianowork on this album in particular sounds spectacular. Godwood is -the- -best- pianist I’ve ever heard in terms of Touhou arrangements, so if you like piano, you need to get all of the PZP labeled, Pizuya’s Cell (Godwood) albums. With the exception of one absolutely brilliant violin+piano track, I think that the more it’s solely piano, the better.

Alstroemeria Records – POP|CULTURE 4 [シ18b] [*]

POP|CULTURE 3 was… Well I really liked Lost Emotion and I was grateful at least that “She’s in a Temper!!” got an arrangement, but… …

This one seems a lot better. I’ll promise to resume my “I translate all of Alstroemeria’s New Tracks” thing.

Find Your Way – Fade / Time [セ09b] [*]

Like with Shinigiwa’s first official album, a lot of these tracks have already been released on other EPs, but everything’s been reworked and I see myself listening to this a bunch. “2 hours +” is actually one of my favorite songs ever – I often sing it, drunk, with incorrect lyrics. “they got sad in the potato salad” is currently on my car CD, and I’m already addicted to the pre-release of “there’s the Burger King, and then there’s you, the burger peasant”, which is a track that yes, somehow, lives up to its awesome name.

“stoop kid reference” is also awesome. I hadn’t listened to it before but it’s on UNOWN EP, so I’m listening to it now \o/

Though not on this CD, I secretly hope Veto performs “it’s not you, it’s me” when he gets here, haha.

ZYTOKINE – Little Wheel Euclase [シ23b] [*]
ZYTOKINE – Little Wheel Almandine [シ23b] [*]

I’ve not liked (other than the itori tracks) ZYTOKINE’s past… 5 or albums, but there’s somthing about these two that I love. It reminds me of older stuff from linjin I listened to more, but who knows. Maybe I’m just crazy.

signum/ii – Ethereal Divide [ス12b] [*]

I”ve gotten signum/ii albums in the past, and I like them alright, but the main reason this is on this list is Shibayan’s track. I will buy an album for a Shibayan Noise/Nu-Disco track.

東京アクティブNEETs (Tokyo Active NEETs) – 東方爆音ジャズ8 [シ21a] [*]

Most of the tracks seem like they’ll overlap other releases, but that’s no reason to not get more explosive jazz.

虎の穴 (Toranoana) – 東方幻奏響UROBOROS肆 ~dEATHtINYoVERdRIVE~ [KGB] [*]

For Shinigiwa, MISTERY CIRCLE, Tamaonsen and Riverside.

ぴずやの独房 (Pizuya’s Cell) – イザナミの二律背反 [シ27b] [*]

I’ve been feeling these less lately, but that’s mostly because I haven’t had the time to investigate the lyrics properly. I still think 基底現実と仮想空間 is the best.

Melonbooks – 東方 Party BOX [KGB] [*]

itori…. (tr.15 on Disc 2) also that ENS sounds good (tr.16)…

maybe.

Barrage Am Ring – Barrage Am Ring 5/Remind [D3-も19a] [*]

I might get this. It’s a best of album, but I don’t have any of the tracks mentioned.

=[Not New]=

魂音泉 (Tamaonsen) – SAKURA Days EP [シ15a] [*]

They sold out last time I went to get it.

ぴずやの独房 (Pizuya’s Cell) – 楽園ノ曼珠沙華 [シ27b] [*]
HOW DID I MISS THIS!?!?!?!

Doujinshi

I might not really make a section, but this needs mentioning.

CARCHARIAS [シ48-b] IS RELEASING THE NEXT INSTALLMENT OF 蘇我屠自古は語らない。!!!!!!!!

AHHHHHHHHHH [*]

  1. New Demetori!
    This makes C88 worthwhile already, I wouldn’t even have needed anything else. Still looking forward to 喩 and the new UROBOROS, though, really interesting list you crafted together again.

    • Eiki
    • August 10th, 2015

    About Shinigiwa – Releska promised he’ll mention Shinigiwa in next Event.
    By the way – not featuring new FELT? :c And Buta-Otome?

    • janyhero
    • August 16th, 2015

    new cercis ‘ 3 ‘
    Man i thought she was dead or something

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

