モダンガアル街を往く。 // Modern Girl Machi wo Yuku

^I couldn’t find a Taisho Modern Girl Marisa, so you’re going to have to settle for Gyaru.

It’s been too long since I’ve done some Automata Girl. Utashima is marvelous.

Notes:
舶来(製)革鞄 hakurai-sei bag(gu) – is actually a pun on “imported” (hakurai) and “leather” (hakusei).

“Fuck being pretentious!” – literally, “You know that old saying that talks about impoverished people in high-class families unable to afford to eat, using toothpicks to pretend that they’ve just finished a delicious meal? Yeah, that whole idea can go to hell.”

“CTC” stands for the three “western” foods of “カレーラヰス、豚カツ、コロツケ” = “Curry Rice, Tonkatsu (Pork Cutlet), and Croquettes”

“Partake of” and “Reaching for” are used to differentiate between where she calls the “CTC” the “three pillars of Western food” and “the three great desires” respectively.

モダンガアル街を往く。
 Modern Girl Machi wo Yuku.
 A Modern Girl Walks the Street.
恋色マスタースパーク|東方永夜抄
Vocal: うたしま
Arrange: 飴野ヲルカ (Mano, 平茸)
Lyrics: 飴野はるつみ
Circle: 全自動少女 “Automata Girl”
Album: 櫻雨キネマトグラフ〜大正壹佰年奇譚〜
 “Sakuraame Cinématographe ~Taishou Ippyakunen’ Kitan~”
Event: C83

高襟靡かせて闊歩 鯔背な生き様だつて
御家柄辛々脱けたその先 廣がつてゐるのは
花辮舞踊る新天地

high collar nabikasete kappo inase na ikizama datte
oiegara karagara muketa sono saki hirogatten’ no wa
hanabira maiodoru shin’ten’chi

High collars swaying in a strut, those that live life flashy
That have barely escaped their rank and file, what awaits ’em is
A brand new world showered in flower petals!

彼是流行つては廃れ 問屋も御手上げ商戦
ヤア吾こそは洋装妄執 其處退け罷通りぞ
終夜に飛出せ男子女子

arekore hayatte wa sutare toiya mo oteage shousen’
yaa ware koso wa fashion monster soko noke makaritoori zo
yomosugara ni tobidase boys and girls

This ‘n that’ll go in n’ out of style, shops warring o’er profits
Really though I’m a fashion monster! Clear the way, I’m passing through!
Boys and girls, it’s time to fly, all night long!

転がる路傍の石よりも強く在れと云ふ
左様な侭ならぬ路を往かされるなら

korogaru robou no ishi yori mo tsuyoku are to iu
son’na mama naranu michi wo ikasareru nara

They say, you’ve gotta be stronger than any old rock on the side of the road
If that’s the case, and I’ve gotta walk down this ever changing road,

今日も明日も這摺つて 弛んだ洋靴の紐締めて
参大洋食 迺CTC モダンガアルが街を往く
一切合切詰込んだ 舶來革鞄に跨がつて
生来 苦樂 もう沢山なのです
御然者! 當所無ひ方へ

kyou mo ashita mo haizutte yurun’da boots no himo shimete
san’daiyoushoku “CTC” modern girl ga machi wo yuku
issai gassai tsumekon’da hakurai-sei bag(gu) ni matagatte
seirai kuraku mou takusan’ nan’ desu
o-saraba! tousho nai hou e

Today n’ tomorrow I’ll drag myself up, pull tight the loose laces of my boots
Partake of the glorious three “CTC”, then this modern girl’s gonna walk the town!
Straddling my imported leather purse so stuffed it could burst, I say –
This life’s too filled with the ups and the downs, I’ve had enough!
So farewell! I’m off to anywhere else!

参拾貳銭と伍厘の快樂 何時でも這々の體さ
鐵管麥酒は櫁の味 道樂書生語りき
「喰はねば高楊枝 廃れやう」

san’juunisen’ to gorin’ no kairaku itsudemo houhou no tei sa
tekkan’ beer wa mitsu no aji dourakushosei katariki
“kuwaneba kouyouji sutareyou”

An ecstacy for only thirty-two and a half cents, an escape you can take anytime!
This canned beer tastes like honey! As the free living and impoverished students alike say,
“Fuck being pretentious!”

今日も明日も幾阡萬先も 徒然風委せ
一切合切掃き出して 啼きさうな夜も往くのだぜ

kyou mo ashita mo ikusen’ man’ saki mo tsuredzure kaze makase
issai gassai hakidashite nakisou na yoru mo yukun’ da ze

Today n’ tomorrow, hell, ten thousand days later I’ll leave my days to the winds
Even when all I’ve got’s spilled all over the floor and I wanna cry, I’m still gonna fly.

翩翻這蹲踞つて 弛んだ洋靴の紐締めて
参大慾求 迺CTC モダンガアルは直ぐ其處へ
一切合切詰込んだ 舶來製革鞄に跨がつて
生来 苦樂 もう沢山なのです
御然者! 當所無ひ方へ

hen’pon’ haitsukubatte yurun’da boots no himo shimete
san’dai yokkyuu “CTC” modern girl wa sugu soko e
issai gassai tsumekon’da hakurai-sei bag(gu) ni matagatte
seirai kuraku mou takusan’ nan’ desu
o-saraba! tousho nai hou e

Flailing about, I’ll lift a knee to pull tight the loose laces of my boots
Reaching for the glorious three “CTC”s, this modern girl’s gonna be right there!
Straddling my imported leather purse so stuffed it could burst, I say –
This life’s too filled with the ups and the downs, I’ve had enough!
So farewell! I’m off to anywhere else!

  1. These lyrics are *so* damn good. Thanks for the great translation, I appreciate it so much!

    • I love Automata Girl – not only the music, but the lyrics are very well crafted. It’s a shame the project stalled and only released one album + one web-released track :x

      • You can say that again! :)
        I wonder why they stopped? They sure made up some promising circle…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

