PUNISHMENT

This is an unused track from Dim. Dream, so I’m taking the opportunity to use Akyuu.

Sometimes I have to think that Haruka has to have a rough love life to write stuff like this.

There are both lighter and more sinister things you can infer about the narrator’s dialog, but perhaps she was assaulted in the city (if you put extra weight on ‘sin’ she may have gone and cheated of her own will), but now she’s reflecting on how this event, like some sort of punishment, is acting almost as an end mark to her failing relationship that is marred by inaction, stagnant while others the narrator may know have already gone and found their happiness. In the end, she cannot make up her mind on what to do and the status quo remains a while longer.

I ended up throwing this into present tense for flow, but there’s a lot of past tense in the original Japanese, so there’s a lot of emphasis on “what has happened” and the fact she’s at a junction.

At any rate a Haruka song.

PUNISHMENT
時の風|東方夢時空
Vocal: nachi
Arrangement: Masayoshi Minoshima
Lyrics: Haruka
Circle: Alstroemeria Records
Album: Flashlight
Event: C86

都会の中で もみくちゃにされて
流されるまま 心は削れて
街の明かりは ただ明るいだけ
光の中が 闇の中
君の心は 何を見ているの
君の望みが 本当にあるの?
私の声は 聞こえているかな
この温もりも 忘れそう

tokai no naka de momikucha ni sarete
nagasareru mama kokoro wa kezurete
machi no akari wa tada akarui dake
hikari no naka ga yami no naka
kimi no kokoro wa nani wo miteiru no
kimi no nozomi ga hon’tou ni aru no?
watashi no koe wa kikoeteiru kana
kono nukumori mo wasuresou

Jostled around in the middle of the city
My heart is filed away as I’m swept along
The city lights are bright, but only just
Their light is encapsulated in darkness
What is it that your heart is watching for?
Is there anything you do truly desire?
I wonder, can you hear my voice?
I’m slowly forgetting my warmth for you

時の中 流されていた ゆらゆら揺れてた
思い切り ぶつけたいのよ 私の気持ちを
悩んでは 足踏みをして ゆらゆら 揺れてた
進めない 進めないまま 時は過ぎていた

toki no naka nagasareteita yurayura yureteta
omoikiri butsuketai no yo watashi no kimochi wo
nayan’de wa ashibumi wo shite yurayura yureteta
susumenai susumenai mama toki wa sugiteita

Swept along through time, I sway back and forth
I want to throw all my emotions at you, you know?
Frustrated, I stomp the ground, swaying back and forth
Stuck, unable to advance, time just passes us by

信じる者に 与えられた罪
夢の中で 抜け出せないままに
何度も 見逃した 幸せの欠片さえ
信じる者に 与えられた罰
君の声は まだ届かないまま
何度も 触れていた 温もりもわからない

shin’jiru mono ni ataerareta tsumi
yume no naka de nukedasenai mama ni
nan’domo minogashita shiawase no kakera sae
shin’jiru mono ni ataerareta batsu
kimi no koe wa mada todokanai mama
nan’domo fureteita nukumori wa wakaranai

This is a sin, pronounced upon those who believe
Unable to escape, locked inside our dreams
How many times have we overlooked little fragments of happiness?
This is a punishment, inflicted on those who believe
Your voice has still not reached me, and
No longer do I know the warmth we’d shared time and time again

都会の中は まだ闇の中で
明かりの中で 人の闇つくる
街の明かりは とても綺麗でも
潜んだ色を 隠してた
君の心は 何を映したの
君の夢に 私はいるのかな
私の声は 届いてたのかな
この温もりは 残したい

tokai no naka wa mada yami no naka de
akari no naka de hito no yami tsukuru
machi no akari wa totemo kirei demo
hison’da iro wo kakushiteta
kimi no kokoro wa nani wo utsushita no
kimi no yume ni watashi wa iru no kana
watashi no koe wa todoiteta no kana
kono nukumori wa nokoshitai

Left in darkness in the middle of the city
Even in the light, people create darkness
Though the city lights are beautiful
They hide another color lurking
What is it that your heart was projecting?
Am I there, somewhere in your dreams?
I wonder, did my voice ever reach you?
I want to leave you my warmth

街明かり 今日も照らした 深い闇の色
忘れ行く 記憶の中に 残す傷跡を
本当の 闇を隠して 明かりは消えない
映し出す 嫌なぐらいに それは鮮明に

machi akari kyou mo terashita fukai yami no iro
wasureyuku kioku no naka ni nokosu kizuato wo
hon’tou no yami wo kakushite akari wa kienai
utsushidasu iya na gurai ni sore wa sen’mei ni

The city lights shine again today, a deep color of darkness
I’m forgetting, in the depths of my memories, all of my scars
Even hiding true darkness, none of the lights disappear
They shine so much I hate it, shine so clear and brilliantly

信じる者に 与えられた罪
夢の中で 抜け出せないままに
何度も 見逃した 幸せの欠片さえ
信じる者に 与えられた罰
君の声は まだ届かないまま
何度も 触れていた 温もりを感じたい

shin’jiru mono ni ataerareta tsumi
yume no naka de nukedasenai mama ni
nan’do mo minogashita shiawase no kakera sae
shin’jiru mono ni ataerareta batsu
kimi no koe wa mada todokanai mama
nan’domo fureteita nukumori wo kan’jitai

This is a sin, pronounced upon those who believe
Unable to escape, locked inside our dreams
How many times have we overlooked little fragments of happiness?
This is a punishment, inflicted on those who believe
Your voice has still not reached me, and
I want to feel once more the warmth we’d shared time and time again

信じるだけじゃ 意味がないままで
君の声も まだ届かないまま
何度も 何度でも 呼びかけていたいから
信じていたい でもわからなくて
なにをすれば 何を求めるなら
答えも みつからず 風だけが吹いていた

shin’jiru dake ja imi ga nai mama de
kimi no koe mo mada todokanai mama
nan’domo nan’dodemo yobikaketeitai kara
shin’jiteitai demo wakaranakute
nani wo sureba nani wo motomeru nara
kotae mo mitsukarazu kaze dake ga fuiteita

There’s no meaning in simply believing
While your voice still does not reach me
I want to call out to you again and again
I want to believe, but I still do not understand
What should I do, whatever should I seek?
Unable to find answers, the wind sweeps on by

    • FantasyGensokyo
    • August 26th, 2014

    The lines 君の望みが 本当にあるの? and 信じる者に 与えられた罰 don’t seem to have the right romaji. The first line has a ‘ga’ instead of ‘wa’, and the second has ‘bachi’ instead of ‘batsu’, according to the Kanji converter I used. On another note, would it be possible for you to post the lyrics for the song ‘Lost in the Abyss’ from FELT’s new album if you have them? Can’t find scans :/

    • Fixed the wa/ga thing. It is “batsu” not “bachi” though.

        • FantasyGensokyo
        • August 28th, 2014

        Thanks :]

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

