芥子の花 // Keshi no Hana

Martian Successor Nadesico

Commissioned by: burbels

It may have been a month since I’ve even logged in here.. sorry about that. I was legitimately busy. Really.

Plus, my new boss is a teenager that looks like a policewoman. I may have just lost it a bit.

A 機動戦艦ナデシコ or Martian Successor Nadesico Image Song.

I should probably watch this series. I mean, I know YOU GET TO BURNING, but that’s about it. For all the wrong reasons – (the fact that one character looks like Narika) – I might watch it eventually.

Note:
I did not have audio at translation time so some romaji may need to be rewritten. Fixed!

芥子の花
 Keshi no Hana
 Poppy
歌:マキ・イズミ(長沢美樹)
編曲:たかはしこう
作詞:相吉志保
アルバム:機動戦艦ナデシコ お洒落倶楽部

甘い花の香り誘う 幻はオアシスの罠
乾く唇 砂を拒む 意志は儚くて

amai hana no kaori sasou maboroshi wa oasis no wana
kawaku kuchibiru suna wo kobamu ishi wa hakanakute

This hallucination the sweet fragrance of these flowers tempt is a false oasis
The resolve that keeps my dried lips from partaking of sand is a fleeting one

熱い風に身体揺れて 汗は微か熱を冷ます
消えた足跡 探す指に 灼けた花が触れてる

atsui kaze ni karada yurete ase wa kasuka netsu wo samasu
kieta ashiato sagasu yubi ni yaketa hana ga fureteru

My body sways in the scorching winds, sweat but slightly cooling this fever as
My fingers brush against scorched flowers, searching for footprints already gone

もう言葉さえ忘れて 本能が目覚めるDesert
歪んだ地平線に 何かを感じてる
それが巡り来る 運命かを知りたい

mou kotoba sae wasurete hon’nou ga mezameru desert
yugan’da chiheisen’ ni nanika wo kan’jiteru
sore ga megurikuru sadame ka wo shiritai

Language forgotten, my instincts awake in the desert
I feel there is something in the twisted horizon
I want to know, whether it is something fated for me

灼熱の楽園に 狂い咲く花 芥子の色
この胸の戸惑いを 紅く染め さあ空に舞え
雲に乗り東を目指せ 明日が見えるまで

shakunetsu no rakuen’ ni kuruisaku hana keshi no iro
kono mune no tomadoi wo akaku some saa sora ni mae
kumo ni nori higashi wo mezase ashita ga mieru made

In this scorching paradise, unnatural flowers are the color of poppies
They stain the indecision in my heart crimson – Now dance in the sky
Ride the clouds and head to the east, until you can see tomorrow!

陽炎の向こう横切る 旅人の声が聞こえる
若いトゥルバドゥール キスを投げて 私 恋に落ちたの

kagerou no mukou yokogiru tabibito no koe ga kikoeru
wakai troubadour kiss wo nagete watashi koi ni ochita no

Beyond the mirage I hear the voice of a traveler passing by
The young troubadour blows a kiss my way, and I fall in love

さぁ あの月をさらって ここまで運んでおいで
蒼い瞳が笑う まるで神秘の海
深く底知れぬ いじわるな瞳

saa ano tsuki wo saratte koko made hakon’deoide
aoi hitomi ga warau maru de kamisama no umi
fukaku sokoshirenu ijiwaru na hitomi

Come now, steal the moon and carry it to me…
His blue eyes smile, just like a mystic sea
Deep and fathomless, such teasing eyes

灼熱の楽園に 逃げまどう蝶 虹の色
幾千の色彩が 色褪せるまで空に舞え
羽をすくう風 蹴散らして 朝日の中を行け

shakunetsu rakuen’ ni nigemadou chou niji no iro
ikusen’ no shikisai ga iroaseru made sora ni mae
hane wo sukuu kaze kechirashite asahi no naka wo yuke

In this scorching paradise, butterflies fluttering about are rainbow-colored
Until the thousands of differing colors fade – Now dance in the sky
Beat against the wind that fills your wings, and fly into the morning sun!

今 言葉さえ忘れて 本能が目覚めるDesert
歪んだ地平線に 何かを感じてる
それが巡り来る 運命かを知りたい

ima kotoba sae wasurete hon’nou ga mezameru desert
yugan’da chiheisen’ ni nanika wo kan’jiteru
sore ga megurikuru sadame ka wo shiritai

Language forgotten, my instincts awake in the desert
I feel there is something in the twisted horizon
I want to know, whether it is something fated for me

灼熱の楽園に 狂い咲く花 芥子の色
この胸の戸惑いを 赤く染め さあ空に舞え
雲に乗り東を目指せ 明日が見えるまで

shakunetsu no rakuen’ ni kuruisaku hana keshi no iro
kono mune wo tomadoi wo akaku some saa sora ni mae
kumo ni nori higashi wo mezase ashita ga mieru made

In this scorching paradise, unnatural flowers are the color of poppies
They stain the indecision in my heart crimson – Now dance in the sky
Ride the clouds and head to the east, until you can see tomorrow!

Martian Successor Nadesico

    • burbels
    • April 6th, 2014

    Yay! ^.^
    >>I should probably watch this series. I mean, I know YOU GET TO >>BURNING, but that’s about it. For all the wrong reasons – (the fact >>that one character looks like Narika) – I might watch it eventually.
    It’s brilliant. Depending on if you can get their parodies on old mecha anime, I mostly didn’t – for lack of reference, but nevertheless, this show by itself is smart, funny, dramatic, and has a way of giving even sideline characters life, like Maki Isumi (the one with long black hair there, it’s her seyuu who sings this song) who is one of my most favourite characters ever. But then, I tend to like support characters more than main.
    Thanks for translating! See if something needs to be changed, when you hear the song.

    • burbles
    • August 12th, 2014

    Fun fact: in my native Russian plural for poppy flowers is Маки (Maki). Another of Izumi puns, as if I didn’t love her enough :D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

