Inscribe Your Soul

Sponsored by: FantasyGensokyo

It’s songs like this that remind me that I’ve got to check back on ENS every now and then, they are still producing some tracks that I can be addicted to. By the way, this might as well be the titular track.

Inscribe Your Soul
フラワリングナイト|東方花映塚
Vocal: 花咲あんな
Arrange: きりん
Lyric: 海兎
Circle: EastNewSound
Album: Rewind Amnesia
Event: C84

人知れず十六夜涙 虚空に舞い踊る
アテのない言葉の行方 貴方に届かない気がして

hito shirezu izayoi namida kokuu ni maiodoru
ate no nai kotoba no yukue anata ni todokanai ki ga shite

Unbeknownst the sixteenth night’s tears dance in a vacuum
Off to nowhere, my directionless words I fear will never reach you

時止めたノイズ アイに紛れ
ひとつ、ふたつと刻んで壊し 忘れてしまえばいいの

toki tometa noise ai ni magire
hitotsu, futatsu to kizan’de kowashi wasureteshimaeba ii no

Frozen in time, noise sinks lost into love
Tick… tock… inscribed and destroyed, all I must do is forget

ロンリーデイズ 遠き日の姿 触れられない
何も言えないよ 貴方に会いたい今も
ロンリーハート 時を越え 長いユメを見てた
記憶 曖昧に 確かな想いが この手に

lonely days tooki hi no sugata furerarenai
nani mo ienai yo anata ni aitai ima mo
lonely heart toki wo koe nagai yume wo miteta
kioku aimai ni tashika na omoi ga kono te ni

Lonely days… I cannot touch the figments of days long past
I cannot say anything, even now as I yearn for you
Lonely heart… Transcending time, I dreamed a long dream
Memories unclear, but emotions certain in my two hands

朝と夜 巡り逢えない こんなに焦がれても 逢えない

asa to yoru meguriaenai kon’na ni kogaretemo aenai

Morning and night can never meet, no matter how their hearts burn for the other

切り裂いた世界 アイにまみれ
声も姿も 貴女の全て刻む 愛おしい過去へと

kirisaita sekai ai ni mamire
koe mo sugata mo anata no subete kizamu itooshii toki e to

The torn world is smeared with love
Your voice, your figure, everything inscribed to that beloved time, my past

ロンリーデイズ 在りし日の姿 巻き戻して
心離さない 聞かせて貴方の想いを
ロンリーハート 時の中 どんなユメを見てた?
Quiet night 十六夜に誓いを このまま忘れて

lonely days arishi hi no sugata makimodoshite
kokoro hanasanai kikasete anata no omoi wo
lonely heart toki no naka don’na yume wo miteta?
quiet night izayoi ni chikai wo kono mama wasurete

Lonely days… Rewinding to figments of days that once were
My soul cannot depart – Let me hear your emotions…
Lonely heart… In all this time, what dream did I dream?
Quiet night… On the sixteenth night, my vows I thus forgot

    • FantasyGensokyo
    • September 18th, 2013

    Heya, could you explain “Frozen in time, noise sinks lost into love
    Tick… tock… inscribed and destroyed, all I must do is forget” to me? Those were the only two lines I didn’t really understand.

    • 時止めたノイズ アイに紛れ
      ひとつ、ふたつと刻んで壊し 忘れてしまえばいいの

      toki tometa noise ai ni magire
      hitotsu, futatsu to kizan’de kowashi wasureteshimaeba ii no

      Frozen in time, noise sinks lost into love
      Tick… tock… inscribed and destroyed, all I must do is forget

      The focus on noise is a little hard to pin down (rhetorical huh?), either “frozen noise” (ie. noise with its time stopped) or “noise that stopped time” or even disassociated as “noise present when I stopped time” – the second phrase is literally “mixes in with love” picture it as a girl with a red shirt getting lost in a crowd of people. This is a bit inverted from what you would normally think: rather than getting lost in noise, noise is drowned out by love, as if you were wearing headphones casting love, the end result being the emotion of love is so strong everything else doesn’t matter.

      Tick-tock is literally “one, two” but when tied in with the next verb, one that usually notes the passage of time, I felt like I had to switch it to “tick tock” as the phrase itself is referring to things happening as time passes. I used “inscribed” because of the title, but the verb means to clock time, or to engrave something. Unfortunately a little bit of meaning is lost in the next word “destroyed” because it’s a linked action, “inscribing and then immediately destroying”. The end result is two fold, “writing down so you can forget about it” and linking this action with time/the present, which can only hold one thing at a time, discarding one moment for the next, even though you can say it properly “recorded” its happening. “All I must do is forget” is just how it’s phrased grammatically, you can map that “all I must do” with the whole phrase, “all I must do is inscribe and forget (just like) the tick-tocking of a clock” but that would be changing it up a bit too much (solidifying inferences) and I thought it might make it a little more confusing.

      To sum everything up:

      “These feelings of love are overwhelming me, if only I would just forget them, I wouldn’t have to deal with this anymore.”

      (Though this ignores any implications and delvings into the phrase “stopped time” which could mean a variety of things in this context.)

      ^^

      That.

    • I liked this song ^^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

