識らぬが佛、視ぬが秘事。 // Shiranu ga Hotoke, Minu ga Hiji.

Flavor text: 路地裡の名物卜者 – “A Famous Clairvoyant in the Back Alley”

The title is a proverb that states, “Not knowing is to be Buddha(-like), Secrets are things to be unseen.” = “Not knowing the truth (this is separate from absolute truth and etc), you may suffer less, and after going through all the trouble to learn a secret, it’s often something you really didn’t need to know, useless or even harmful for you to know.”

This one has taken an incredible amount of time. It still needs to be re-translated – the perspective I approached it from before is probably wrong. (2013/02/27)

識らぬが佛、視ぬが秘事。
 Shiranu ga Hotoke, Minu ga Hiji.
 Ignorance is Bliss, Let Secrets Lie.
少女さとり~3rd eye|東方地霊殿
Vocal: Liqu@。
Arrange: 飴野ヲルカ (Mano, 平茸)
Lyrics: 飴野はるつみ
Circle: 全自動少女 “Automata Girl”
Album: 櫻雨キネマトグラフ〜大正壹佰年奇譚〜
 “Sakuraame Cinématographe ~Taishou Ippyakunen’ Kitan~”
Event: C83

御手を附き乞希ふやうに 首垂れてみなさひな
他愛も無ひ夢と瞞し 信ずれば其れすら想ひどほりに

ote wo tsuki koinegau you ni koube tareteminasai na
tawai mo nai yume to mayakashi shin’jireba sore sura omoidoori ni

Put your hands together as if pleading, now come and bow your heads
When you believe in your immature dreams and fabricated fears, they will only come true

下手な勘繰ならば御止しなすつて
廻廻つて羞ぢるは己が言葉
まるで阡里眼 人は誰もが皆
悩悩むでゐるやうな氣がするだけ

heta na kan’guri naraba oyoshinasutte
mawarimegutte hajiru wa ono ga kotoba
marude sen’rigan’ hito wa dare mo ga min’na
nayaminayan’deiru you na ki ga suru dake

Take your unfounded suspicions elsewhere
For all your running around, only you will feel shame
I feel as if everyone thinks themselves clairvoyant
Worrying themselves to death over each and every thing

玻璃にはうつろはぬ物 希つてゐるのさ
もう結構、其れだけで未來は示された

glass ni wa utsurowanu mono negatteiru no sa
mou kekkou, sore dake de saki wa shimesareta

We all wish that our mirror’s reflection will stay the same
The moment they had enough, my future was set and laid out before me

膠も無ひ定と云へど 凭掛る者は跡絶てず
路地裡に識ろしめす神よ 導くは遍き天なる方へ

nibe mo nai sadame to iedo yorikakaru mono wa ato tatezu
rojiura ni shiroshimesu kami yo michibiku wa amaneki ten’ naru hou e

You might call it a harsh fate, but the number who cling to it are countless
O lord, all knowing ruler of back alleys, all your roads lead us to heaven above

廉ひ絡繰 其の實我下知
逸逸つて氣附けぬ只の陋見
何時の間にやら縋るは性でせう
迷迷つて指先をも委ねて

yasui karakuri sono jitsu ware-shirazu
hayarihayatte kidzukenu tada no rouken’
itsu no ma ni yara sugaru wa saga deshou
mayoimayotte yubisaki wo mo yudanete

Cheap tricks will never reveal to you the truth
For all your efforts, narrow conclusions miss the point
It must be our nature to cling to something before long
Lost and troubled, we let everything slip away

玻璃にうつろはぬ事 希つてゐるのさ
もう結構、其れならば奉げてしまへよ

glass ni utsurowanu koto negatteiru no sa
mou kekkou, sore naraba sasageteshimaeyo

We all wish that our mirror’s reflection will stay the same
The moment they’ve had enough, then just give everything away

御手を附き乞希ふやうに 首垂れてみなさひな
他愛も無ひ夢と瞞し 眼に映る渾てが想ひどほりに

ote wo tsuki koinegau you ni koube tareteminasai na
tawai mo nai yume to mayakashi me ni utsuru subete ga omoidoori ni

Put your hands together as if pleading, now come and bow your heads
When you set your eyes on immature dreams and fabricated fears, they will only come true

當も無ひ定もやがて 聞説済ひ上げ賜ふ
路地裡に識ろしめす神よ 拾はれぬ妾を天なる方へ

atari mo nai sadame mo yagate kikunaraku sukuiagetamau
rojiura ni shiroshimesu kami yo hirowarenu watashi wo ten’ naru hou e

Even from this luckless fate, finally I hear I will be saved
O lord, all knowing ruler of back alleys, lead my abandoned soul to heaven



  1. I think what attracts me to this song is how different it sounds to me from other Satori arranges. In most you can clearly hear that it’s a Satori arrange but in this I really can’t hear it. I think I can at certain points but I might be imagining it. When I first heard it I couldn’t even believe that it was a Satori arrange and it’s growing on me a lot. Thanks for the lyrics! I’ve been staring at this page for the greater part of my day!

    • eversor_rex
    • April 5th, 2013

    I must say, this song is absolutely beautiful, and attempting to sing it is quite a joy. Thanks for the lyrics and accompanying translation~ (Especially for the translation; it helped in my attempt to make English lyrics for this song, though I’m not too sure if I managed to keep the essence of the message intact. T_T )

    Will you be trying a hand at the Love-colored Master Spark arrange from the same album, as well? It’s another one that’s kinda wormed its way into my ear. <3

  2. Hello! You sent out a general call for assistance in reading through this translation a while ago, and since I finally have some spare time on my hands, I thought I’d give it a read through. Not having had much experience with this style of Japanese, I really appreciate how you’ve managed to untangle some seriously tricky wordings/phrases in there! I only have a few observations/questions, but I hope they’re at least a little bit useful…!

    -まるで阡里眼
    I wonder if this is Satori talking here. Is it possible that she thinks she’s the one who’s clairvoyant? ‘It’s like I’m a clairvoyant – I just feel that everyone // worries themselves to death over every little thing.’

    -玻璃にはうつろはぬ物
    – I see うつろ as a form of 映る. So, ‘We/they all wish for something that isn’t in the mirror.’ Like, we all want to be more beautiful, or we want things we don’t have. So then the next line could be “the moment they say they’ve had enough, their future is set.”

    -何時の間に
    -I feel like ‘unaware’ might fit better than ‘before long.’

    -玻璃にうつろはぬ事 希つてゐるのさ
    – Like above, I see うつろ as a form of 映ろう, so the sentence could be something like ‘We/they all wish to never be reflected in the mirror.’
    I feel like this whole song is basically Satori making assumptions about people, seeing herself as a clairvoyant because she knows people so well. But the ‘watashi’ used at the end is weird. Is it Satori who is being saved? Or is it someone who she’s ‘clairvoyanting’? Is there any link between the ‘Famous Clairvoyant in the Back Alley’ and the ‘All-knowing ruler of back alleys?’

    Trying to make sense of these lyrics makes me love Automata Girl more, and it just makes it hurt even more knowing that they weren’t able to bring out that second album… >_>

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

