若紫 // “Wakamurasaki” ーヒカルが地球にいたころ…… “Hikaru ga Chikyuu ni Ita Koro” [3]

I wanted to have finished reading this one about a month ago, but what with getting sick, being busy with C83 stuff, being busy with having to make up all the hours I missed at work, I really took my time getting around to this one. I really have gotten to the point where I haven’t read any of the source material for this series, so at some time or another I’ll probably have to track down one of the large volumes of the English translations and read through the whole story.

Shorter than normal review this time. (I think.)

若紫 – ヒカルが地球にいたころ……③
 ”Wakamurasaki” Hikaru ga Chikyuu ni Ita Koro…… (3)
 ”Wakamurasaki” When Hikaru was on the Earth…… (Official-Off-Cover-Translation)
著:野村美月 (Author: Nomura Mizuki)
画:竹岡美穂 (Illustrator: Takeoka Miho)
ファミ通文庫 (Famitsu Bunko)
ISBN-13: 978-4047277199
発売日:2012/01/05

Introduction:

It’s never a good idea to go into an isolated place with a elementary school girl, Koremitsu. What are you going to do when she decides to pull your pants down? What then?

That’s all I have to say.

Characters:

赤城是光  Akagi Koremitsu [Protagonist / Living]

A very delinquent with a kind heart. A fitting personality for a once stray, now vicious guard-dog. || Koremitsu (Hikaru Genji’s Assistant/Friend)

帝門ヒカル Mikado Hikaru “Hikaru no Kimi” [Protagonist-II / Deceased]

The beautiful ghost of a beautiful romancing boy loved by almost all women everywhere, who has made way too many promises and likes to use flowers as metaphors. Currently possesses Koremitsu. || Hikaru Genji

若木紫織子 Wakagi Shioriko “Shi-ko” [“Heroine”]

A nine year old elementary school student who partakes in the sport of “Sparrow Hunting”. Hard pressed for money after her grandfather, being too kind, ended up having to sell his home to pay off an acquaintance’s debts. A girl whose only tears are fake tears. The first characters of her name spell Wakamurasaki, and her name can be read as “bookmark girl” || Wakamurasaki

式部帆夏  Shikibu Honoka “Nioi-Murasaki/Purple-Hime”

The girl who sits one seat across from Koremitsu. She feels an inherent duty to help Koremitsu with what he’s trying to do, and lately has found herself worrying and thinking about him so much that she doesn’t really know what to do with herself. Under the pen name “Purple-Hime/Princess Purple” she writes cellphone romance novels and manages a love consulting forum. || Murasaki Shikibu (Author of the Tale of Genji)

齋賀朝衣  Saiga Asai “Asa no Miya”

Head of the student council and full of disdain and doubt, she keeps watch over Koremitsu’s actions. || Asagao

左乙女葵  Saotome Aoi “Aoi no Ue”

Part of the elite class and Hikaru’s (former) fiancee, has complicated feelings towards Koremitsu, her “brother” is afraid she’ll strip in front of him. (ww) || Aoi

近江 ひいな  Oumi Hiina

A member of the newspaper club, she while working directly with other possibly blood-related characters in the background, does everything she can to stimulate a response and grab information from Koremitsu. Appears to be trying to find out who killed Hikaru. || ?

Plot:

Koremitsu’s in a pinch. Honoka kind of just confessed her love, but then half retracts it. Not a few days ago Koremitsu said goodbye to his first love, and he’s a bit mixed up inside. He sort of ends with “If Honoka’s ok with proclaiming that ‘I-it’s only like, not love!’, then I’ll just leave things be for now.” Just his luck though, and the whole school starts to think he’s gay. So to distract himself from all the headache he decides to go clear up Hikaru’s next love regret.

In front of a nearby elementary school, Koremitsu asks Hikaru again, “Are you sure this is the right place? And why am I wearing a dog collar anyway?” At first he thinks he’s going to have to deal with an elementary school -teacher- before a young girl half his height asks him, “Are you Hikaru’s friend?”

“Are you here to take my virginity?”

“I didn’t want to make Shi-ko into a girl who couldn’t cry when she wanted to.”

“I’m not a child!”

“From this day forth, you’re going to be my dog.”

“We’re going hunting for sparrows.”

“What are you doing!?!? You chased him away!!”

“My mother, on her way to becoming an idol, died giving birth to me at fifteen.”

“Good people are only deceived until they lose everything! I’ll never be a good person, I’m going to be on the deceiving side!”

Evaluation / Rating:

Part of it may be due to the fact that I mostly read this episode in a more fragmented fashion, but so far – I liked this volume the least of the series. Don’t get me wrong – I liked and appreciated a lot of the themes, about family and potential and the differences in being kind and cutthroat… though the word Hikaru uses for Shioriko-chan is “my joy”, I think “my hope” would have been more appropriate. I doubt the series is going to span five to ten years, but Shioriko’s duality of light and dark (even in her blood) would make her a more interesting character than she is now. I guess my complaints have more to do with Honoka getting pushed aside and made a bit more into a flat, Nanase-like character. Though I had a kick out of the “gravure” scene, I would have actually rather her shown up less than having her popped up the way she did. It’s not like she’s not in a complicated situation, it just feels like it’s being glossed over a bit – again, not that I would mind her role in this volume cut back – it’s not really her time yet, but still… I found myself much more interested in the Hikaru’s “relative” who we meet again for the first time in a long while, other than her part in writing the parts at the beginning and ending of each volume.

I know Asai’s still three volumes away, but I’m also looking forward to seeing more of her character; we only get a complicated flash of anger in this one, but it’s enough to draw you in. Another thing I liked about this volume was the fact that we actually got to see some of the character come out of Koremitsu’s grandfather and aunt. Characterization of a protagonist’s family is extremely rare in this sort of medium; parental figures are usually treated like ghosts.

For whatever reason, I also appreciated Shioriko’s attitude toward the “idol” profession. “I’d rather engage in dangerous blackmailing operations than step one foot inside a studio.”

Remember, these points are kind of like points are in QI – they don’t really mean much.

Overall: 8.6

Not bad, it felt more like a transition volume, mostly because I found myself more interested in the backdrop of the story than the actual story.

Concept: 9.0

Great as always. Unfortunately I know very little about the original to make proper comparisons.

Pacing: 8.8

You’re either learning something about characters, chasing worried after Shioriko, or watching a comedy scene. It flows – the only problem is tied with the plot.

Plot: 8.2

If I sit and think about the plot, and the plot alone, it feels like an “interesting glimpse” of a war of elites from the perspective of a collateral casualty. I liked and felt the themes that were floating around, but one problem was that I always felt like I was being jerked in and out of the plot, so it was harder to pay attention to it. Worst of all, when I encountered the scenes that were part of the “overarching plot” I was so much more interested that I almost forgot what was going on in the foreground.

Characters: 9.2

Shioriko is about as deep and complicated as is realistic for someone her age, if she were any “deeper” I think it would be hard to get into the story, but I rank “characters” high more for the glimpses that we get of everyone else… except Honoka, Honoka was flattened for this volume, and I’m still a little upset about it.

Writing Style/Flavor: 9.0

Rather average, but “average for Nomura Mizuki” which means it’s still a 9.

Illustrations: 9.5

A lot of Shioriko/Shiiko. I still think Honoka’s cuter.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

