言葉≧Imitation // Kotonoha Imitation

Requested by: Alv Nanoka (@GWAlv)

It’s been a little while… ^^;

I’ve been a combination of sick and busy, and when I wasn’t busy, trying to catch up on reading. But I’m going to try to make some of that up – after all another Touhou event is on the horizon, and I haven’t really even covered C82 well yet!

You can view/listen to the song on [nicovideo] or [YouTube]

Notes:
I chose to translate “koto-no-ha” as “fragmented words” and “kotoba” as “words” There is no real difference in each word’s meaning, but in the context of this song koto-no-ha just feels like it needs that extra little descriptor.

“I’m not sure I can still love you” is a “joke made in misery” – kind of like a war joke. You’ll soon understand.

This song is filled with metaphor, which causes most questions and pleadings to be directed at the narrator herself and the “fragments of words” themselves to be a personification of the narrator. I originally translated it in a more “easier to read” fashion and was about to post it, and then didn’t feel right about it, and then went back and re-wrote it.

言葉≧Imitation
 Kotonoha≧Imitation
 Words, [Greater-Than-Or-Equal-To] Imitation
歌:GUMI (Vocaloid 2)
作曲・作詞:YAIRI
ベース編曲:MAO

拾い集めましょう言の葉汚れた手で
赤く染まったままじゃ好きになれない

hiroiatsumemashou koto no ha yogoreta te de
akaku somatta mama ja suki ni narenai

Let’s gather together all these fragmented words with our unclean hands;
If you stay stained red as you are, I’m not sure I can still love you

一人ぼっち言の葉 歩き出したんだ
勇気出して言いましょう君が好きだと

hitoribocchi koto no ha aruiki dashitan’da
yuuki dashite iimashou kimi ga suki da to

These fragmented words all alone started walking
Pulling together their courage to say, “I love you.”

いつか声が枯れても僕の言葉が
君のことを好きになるように

itsuka koe ga karetemo boku no kotoba ga
kimi no koto wo suki ni naru you ni

Even if one day my voice dries up, I hope my words
Will convey their love for you

何から話そう想いを乗せたんだ
ちりばめた言の葉

nani kara hanasou omoi wo nosetan’da
chiribameta koto no ha

Where should I begin? Here are the fragmented words
That I put all my emotions into…

22 22222 111 999?
(き こ え る?)

(ki ko e ru?)

(Can you hear me?)

求めあった日もただ 崩れ去ったような嘘も
忘れないでありふれてしまうから

motomeatta hi mo tada kuzuresatta you na uso mo
wasurenaide arifureteshimau kara

Don’t forget even the lies that said the days we sought each other are long past
If you did, what we had would be just like anything else

綺麗な言の葉を今見つけ出して
素敵な言葉は君の言葉で

kirei na koto no ha wo ima mitsukedashite
suteki na kotoba wa kimi no kotoba de

Now the beautiful fragmented words I’m finding,
These wonderful words are all yours

今もひとりぼっち言の葉泣きだしたんだ
僕のせいなんだごめん 声聴きたいよ

ima mo hitoribocchi no koto no ha nakidashitan’da
boku no sei nan’da gomen’ koe kikitai yo

Even now these fragmented words all alone cried
It’s my fault, I’m sorry… I just want to hear your voice…

まるで的外れだと笑われるかな
最後の君も笑っていたね

maru de matohazure da to warawareru kana
saigo no kimi mo waratteita ne

I wonder if you would laugh at me and say, I’m totally out of it…
After all, you were laughing in the very end…

求めあった日も ただ崩れ去ったような嘘も
忘れないでありふれてしまうから

motomeatta hi mo tada kuzuresatta you na uso mo
wasurenaide arifureteshimau kara

Don’t forget even the lies that said the days we sought each other are long past
If you did, what we had would be just like anything else

綺麗な言の葉を今見つけ出して
素敵な言葉は君の言葉で

kirei na koto no ha wo ima mitsukedashite
suteki na kotoba wa kimi no kotoba de

Now the beautiful fragmented words I’m finding,
These wonderful words are all yours

求めあったよ今も 崩れ去ったんだ過去を
忘れたって ありえない嘘をつく

motomeatta yo ima mo kuzuresattan’da kako wo
wasuretatte arienai uso wo tsuku

We sought each other, even now when everything’s fallen apart
Though I say I’ve forgotten the past, it’s an unbelievable lie

綺麗な言の葉を今見つけたんだ
悲しい言葉はもう言わないで

kirei na koto no ha wo ima mitsuketan’da
kanashii kotoba wa mou iwanaide

Now I’ve found beautiful fragmented words
Don’t say any sad words any longer…

5 000 44444* 4* 444# 4444 66666* 222 6 11 111 888
(な ん ど だ っ て ぼ く は い う よ)
11 7 77777 22 77 55555 22222 44444 2* 333 22 44444
(い ま も き み の こ と が す き と)
22222 44444 6* 22 1111 4 1 11 55555 111 4 6 22 77 55555 7 66666 111 3
(こ と ば き え た あ い の う た は き み の ま ほ う さ)
22222 44444 6* 444 5 22* 11 7 77777 111 4 444# 4444 ………
(こ と ば つ な ぎ い ま も う た っ て ………)
111 4 444# 4444 ……… 111 4 444# 4444 ………
(う た っ て ……… う た っ て ………)

nan’do datte boku wa iu yo
ima mo kimi no koto ga suki to
kotoba kieta ai no uta wa kimi no mahou sa
kotoba tsunagi ima mo utatte…
utatte… utatte…

I’ll say it again and again
I love you even now
This love song that has lost its words is your magic
Bringing words together, I’ll sing even now…
I’ll sing… sing…

冷たくなった手を握ったら
また笑ってくれますように

tsumetaku natta te wo nigittara
mata waratttekuremasu you ni

As I grip your now cold hands
I wish that you would smile again

もう泣かないでただ前だけ見て
響きだした言の葉

mou nakanaide tada mae dake mite
hibikidashita koto no ha

Don’t cry anymore, just look straight ahead
These are the words I said…

求めあった日の歌を君がいない今歌おう
泣かないってありえない嘘をつく

motomeatta hi no uta wo kimi ga inai ima utaou
nakanai tte arienai uso wo tsuku

Now that you’re gone, I’ll sing of the days we sought each other
Though I say I won’t cry, it’s an unbelievable lie

綺麗な言の葉を全部あげる悲しい言葉は僕のものでしょ?
求めてた今から過ぎ去った感傷も

kirei na koto no ha wo zen’bu ageru kanashii kotoba wa boku no mono desho?
motometeta ima kara sugisatta kan’shou mo

I’ll give you all these beautiful fragmented words, but the sad ones are all mine
Don’t forget the sentimentality you sought, all but gone now

忘れないでありがとう今も
君のコト 嘘「葉」つかない 教えてくれた

wasurenaide arigatou ima mo
kimi no koto uso “ha” tsukanai oshietekureta

Thank you, for then and now
For you taught me, not to lie

これから話すよ 僕の言の「葉」… 僕の言の「葉」
一人ぼっち言の葉僕の言の「葉」

kore kara hanasu yo boku no koto no ha… boku no koto no ha
hitoribocchi koto no ha boku no koto no ha…

So I’ll talk now, I’ll tell your fragmented “words”… your fragmented “words”
My fragmented words, all alone… and your fragmented “words”…

  1. Woah, you translated yairi’s new track, nice work

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

