drip+drop

I think aoma’s going to have to be a lyricist I remember. I’ve been impressed lately. The internal monologues are very characteristic.

This song is sung from Renko’s perspective as on this album utashima takes Renko’s role and uta takes Merry’s role.

衛星カフェテラス (Satellite Cafe Terrace)
    Satellite Cafe

“You know, I wasn’t really asking for a physics discussion, and you just kept on talking on and on…”

“I’m sorry, I’m sorry. It’s my major after all. But really, this cake is delicious.”

“I so wanted to go on a moon tour too… I guess I should have known, it’s way too expensive.”

“Now that you mention it, apparently they’ve made a satellite cafe for customers journeying into space, apparently the coffee there in zero gravity is really something else.”

“Yeah, but it’s probably an indoor cafe right? I prefer open cafe terraces.”

When you expose coffee to a vacuum – just for an moment, due to the low pressure, it instantaneously boils, but as it does, it loses the heat to boil, so in the instant it boils, it freezes. This frozen-while-boiling coffee, “Satellite Ice Coffee” is one of the specials on their menu.

Notes:
Some phrases were translated as “equivalent phrases”. Example “I think I deserve a medal for …” comes out of the literal “I try praising myself for…”. (I try to not overuse this tactic.)

“naive” is the same word for “sweet” in Japanese.

“how you…” is because it leaves open the target of what she’s “selfish” about. I take it as an implication of love. (「・ω・)「

drip+drop
衛生カフェテラス|大空魔術
vo:うたしま
ar:平茸
ly:aoma
cl:<echo>PROJECT
al:Mary had a little love
ev:C81

琥珀色の水面に浮かぶ白色のクリーム
きみの注文はいつだって
甘そうで胸焼けしちゃうよ

kohakuiro no minamo ni ukabu shiroiro no cream
kimi no chuumon wa itsudatte
amasou de muneyake shichau yo

White cream floats on an amber surface
Everything you order is always so sweet;
You’re going to give yourself a stomachache you know?

なんだか ふわふわ浮かぶ
ひつじ雲 ゆるゆる溶ける
きみの瞳 映る 紫色のガラス玉
ぽたぽた 愛を零している

nan’daka fuwafuwa ukabu
hitsujigumo yuruyuru tokeru
kimi no hitomi utsuru murasakiiro no glass-dama
potapota ai wo koboshiteiru

It’s sort of like looking at clouds
The kind like fluffly sheep, as I see them
Melting slowly, reflected in your violet glass-like eyes
Drip, drop – Love is spilling over.

きみは手持ち無沙汰に広げた便箋に綴る
甘い恋人の物語 やけに美化された小説

kimi wa temochibusata ni hirogeta bin’sen’ ni tsudzuru
amai koibito no monogatari yake ni bika sareta shousetsu

It’s been a while since I’ve last seen you write, stationary spread out in front of you
A tale of two sweet lovers… there you go idealizing everything again.

やれやれ……

yare yare…

There’s just no helping you is there?

ゆるやかに踊るフォークの先にある苺を眺めてる
きみの繊細な気持ち分かろうとする自分を褒めてみる

yuruyaka ni odoru fork no saki ni aru ichigo wo nagameteru
kimi no sen’sai na kimochi wakarou to suru jibun’ wo hometemiru

I stare at the strawberry dancing back and forth on the end of my fork
I think I deserve a medal for trying to understand your delicate feelings.

ああ そう、きみは ほら いつも無意識に
でも ねえ、なんだかんだでぼくも甘いんだろうね

aa sou, kimi wa hora itsumo muishiki ni
demo nee, nan’da kan’da de boku mo amai n’darou ne

Ahh, you’re never conscious of it at all
But, in one way or another, I’m probably just as naive as you.

ああ そう、きみは ほら いつもわがままに
でも ねえ、それを知られること 嫌う子ども

aa sou, kimi wa hora itsumo wagamama ni
demo nee, sore wo shirareru koto kirau kodomo

Ahh, you’re always so selfish, how you…
But you’re a child that would hate it if I knew.

きみは今日三度めの溜め息をこれ見よがしに
ぼくもこれで今日二杯めの苦いコーヒーを空けるよ

kimi wa kyou san’dome no tameiki wo koremiyogashi ni
boku mo kore de kyou nihai me no nigai coffee wo sukeru yo

As you flagrantly display your third sigh of the day,
I empty my second cup of bitter coffee.

やれやれ……

yare yare…

There’s just no helping you is there?

雲間から光差し込んでいる午後 きみは涙零す
不吊り合いな景色がぼくの心を絞り上げて滴る

kumoma kara hikari sashikon’deiru gogo kimi wa namida kobosu
futsuriai na keshiki ga boku no kokoro wo shiboriagete shitataru

As the afternoon light shines through the clouds, you tear up
The disparity of it all wrings my heart out – Drip, drop.

ああ そう、きみは ほら いつも無意識に
でも ねえ、なんだかんだでぼくも甘いんだろうね

aa sou, kimi wa hora itsumo muishiki ni
demo nee, nan’da kan’da de boku mo amai n’darou ne

Ahh, you’re never conscious of it at all
But, in one way or another, I’m probably just as naive as you.

ああ そう、きみは ほら いつもわがままに
でも ねえ、それを悟らせようとしないオトナ

aa sou, kimi wa hora itsumo wagamama ni
demo nee, sore wo satoraseyou to shinai otona

Ahh, you’re always so selfish, how you…
But you’re an adult who would never tell me outright.



    • Yaren
    • March 28th, 2012

    “I think I deserve a medal for trying to understand your delicate feelings”
    this part of the lyric is priceless, wonderfull song =) thx for another traslation ^^

    • Serativale
    • March 28th, 2012

    Awesome translation. I enjoy the song that much more thanks to you. It gives my heart such a softening feeling, like creamed coffee.

    :D

    • hs08
    • March 29th, 2012

    Your translations bring a lot of lovely songs to my attention–I see the interesting lyrics in English, and then I must go and find the song to see how the lyrics work. This song in particular, I didn’t notice Hiratake had arranged it, and those vocals are very pleasant. Thank you for all your hard work :D

    • rollingdice
    • January 8th, 2013

    Awesome translation! Asking permission to put this into Minilyrics database.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

