フタリゴト // Futarigoto

Requested by: Nightbird

So, I was going to do this like three months ago. >.>

Better late than never! (I guess… にょろ~ん)

Notes:
The title can be interpreted as “We/Both of us/Us together/Ourselves”.

“and I fall” – falling in the metaphorical sense; “fallen angel” sort of “fall”.
Thanatos is a diety of death, symbolized by a Ram. (This is why you see ram decorations on Urns from time to time).

So about the pronouns. There are very few parts of the song where it is specifically “I” or specifically “we” – for everything else… I put “I” until the “becoming one” and then used “we” until it cut back to the chorus that used “I”. I thought about changing the second chorus to “we”, but the “I” is still pretty internal, and felt more like “I” than “we”, so I decided to keep it “I”. I’m sorry if it feels a bit random.

“The act of defiling other is warped, meaningless” – I don’t really get this line a hundred percent (and the wording of the original line is a bit stranger), but let’s go ahead and assume this girl is in a psychiatric ward, and she’s either being sexually/physically abused (ie. the scars are real) or she perceives that she is being toyed with mentally (ie. the scars are all in her head) – both line up pretty well with the “lying adult” line. Then the stanza sort of makes sense… Sorta.

Actually I’m just going to go ahead and say that this song just sort of makes sense… Sorta.

フタリゴト
 Futarigoto
 Ourselves
唄:葉月ゆら
作曲:黒鳥
歌詞:海兎
Circle: EastNewSound
Album: Uncanny Instinct
Event: C81

横たわる身体に 遠のく意識
耳障りなノイズ 堕ちてく私

yokotawaru karada ni toonoku ishiki
mimizawari na noise ochiteku watashi

Lying down, my consciousness drifts away
The noise hurts my ears, and I fall.

もう一人の私 抱えた闇に
酷く痛み覚え 零れた涙

mou hitori no watashi kakaeta yami ni
hidoku itami oboe koboreta namida

In the darkness held by another me
I feel an intense pain and my tears overflow.

増える傷痕数え 憂う笑顔歪んだ
果てた無音慟哭 闇に虚ろい溶けて

fueru kizuato kazoe ureu egao yugan’da
hateta muon’doukoku yami ni utsuroitokete

Counting my ever increasing scars, my face twists in a sorrowful smile
An exhausted soundless wail, melting emptily into the darkness.

知らぬ間に 寄り添う 甘美なタナトスへ
近づけば 傷痕 深く抉るように

shiranu ma ni yorisou kan’bi na thanatos e
chikadzukeba kizuato fukaku eguru you ni

Before I know it, I’m nestling against a sweet Thanatos
The closer I get, the more it feels as if my scars have been torn open again.

疼きだす本能 甘く色づく声
愛のない優しさ 何処までも 堕ちてゆくの

uzukidasu hon’nou amaku irodzuku koe
ai no nai yasashisa doko made mo ochiteyuku no

Throbbing instinct, sweetening voices
Loveless kindness, I fall evermore

幾つの記憶達 刻めばいいの?
抗うコト出来ず 身を任せてく

ikutsu no kiokutachi kizameba ii no?
aragau koto dekizu mi wo makaseteku

What memories should I keep?
Unable to resist, I give in to fate

穢れ落とす行為は 意味を持たず歪んだ
誰も教えはしない これが ”私”のすべて

kegareotosu koui wa imi wo motazu yugan’da
dare mo oshie wa shinai kore ga “watashi” no subete

The act of defiling other is warped, meaningless
No one would tell me that this is all “I” am.

生きること 死ぬこと それすらわからずに
私達重なり 闇へと溶けてく

ikiru koto shinu koto kore sura wakarazu ni
watashitachi kasanari yami e to toketeku

Not knowing what it is like to live or die
We become one and melt into darkness.

嘘つきな大人に 突き立てたガラスは
偽りのヒカリを 映し出し 壊れてゆく

usotsuki na otona ni tsukitateta glass wa
itsuwari no hikari wo utsushidashi kowareteyuku

The glass we stabbed that lying adult with
Breaks, shining with a false light.

生きること 死ぬこと それすら選べずに
フタリゴト 虚空に 儚くキエテく

ikiru koto shinu koto sore sura erabezu ni
futarigoto kokuu ni hakanaku kieteku

Unable to choose life or death
We vanish into emptiness.

凍てついたココロは 知ることを拒んだ
与えられた世界 それがすべてだから

itetsuita kokoro wa shiru koto wo koban’da
ataerareta sekai sore ga subete dakara

Our frozen hearts refused to “know”
Since this world given to us was everything.

知らぬ間に 寄り添う 甘美なタナトスへ
近づけば 傷痕 深く抉るように

shiranu ma ni yorisou kan’bi na thanatos e
chikadzukeba kizuato fukaku eguru you ni

Before I know it, I’m nestling against a sweet Thanatos
The closer I get, the more it feels as if my scars have been torn open again.

疼きだす本能 甘く色づく声
愛のない優しさ 何処までも 堕ちていくの

uzukidasu hon’nou amaku irodzuku koe
ai no nai yasashisa doko made mo ochiteyuku no

Throbbing instinct, sweetening voices
Loveless kindness, I fall evermore

    • thatfpsguy
    • March 1st, 2012

    I ran accross this one on NND while searching for c81 releases. Insta-favorite, the vibe from it is just amazing. And these lyrics… man. Quite darker than I thought it would be, but likeable nonetheless. Very likeable.

    Thanks for this!

    • ninryu
    • March 2nd, 2012

    Sorry for the stupid question, but who are the characters on the album cover? (^_^; ) It’s hard to recognize Touhous without their hats.

    • Original characters this time – Uncanny Instinct is an EastNewSound original album.

    • Meriole
    • March 3rd, 2012

    Hello Kafla ! Do you love love Yura Hatsuki? She has a beautiful voice, for me. If you want more music about her, you can listen an album/doujin name gothika. All music are excellent, my favorite is Carmilla.

    For EastNewSound, I heard a rumor that nayuta exit the group. Do you know if is right?
    (Sorry, I’m French and I really love your traduction for touhou, even if it’s an english).

    • Hatsuki Yura’s pretty great. My favorite from her is probably 愚者に創られた闇の娘 (Gusha ni Tsukurareta Yami no Musume), but I’ll definitely check out Gothika – listening to Carmilla now. ^^

      Both nayuta/葉月なの and Izumin (who were two of the three that founded the group I think) aren’t on ENS’s about page anymore (not even under “past” singer/lyricists!) so I’m pretty sure it’s true.

  1. July 2nd, 2015
    Trackback from : Gothika3 | Meriole

Leave a Reply

