ペテン師が笑う頃に // Petenshi ga Warau Koro ni

It’s been a while since I’ve done a Miku song hasn’t it?

Kerosene (灯油)’s voice with Pizuya’s Cell is awesome for this [link], but there are many versions. Here is the original: [link]. This is also trippy: [link].

This song is harsh. Damn. It makes so much more sense with a male singer, but well… Yuri fans?

Notes:
‘It’s not you that’s “loved”, it’s me.’ – What a way to start off a song. Hot damn. The translated line’s hardly giving it any justice. It’s something like this: So we’ve been in a relationship for a while right? and you’ve got this idea in your head that I love you, you’re so loved, you’re so lucky – maybe you think I love you more than you love me, maybe you think you’re playing me? Hahahahaha – no. It’s not you, you’ve got it backwards. It’s me. You love me, oh and it feels so nice, because I don’t give a shit about you. Wahahahaha!

死にたがりのピエロ The “Pierrot that Wished for Death” is a Japanese fairy tale: [link], and is about a clown from the circus that wanted to die, and travelling, looking for a place to die gives up various body parts to give others fuller lives – around the moment when he’s discovered he wants to live again, he dies. I’ve translated it here as “depressed clowns” – as it’s used like a type of person here.

幸せを運ぶ青い鳥 The “The Blue Bird of Happiness” is a fairy tale play written by Maurice Polydore Marie Bernard Maeterlinck. It’s about a brother and sister that go all over the place looking for a bird that would bring them happiness, only finding that it was “at home” all along.

騙されるアホに騙すアホ 同じアホなら笑いましょ = バカが騙されるから、騙すアホが調子に乗るワケですよ。 嘘を嘘と解って楽しむってレベルほど、嘘高度じゃねーし面白くないじゃない。= “It’s your fault as much as mine for falling for me. Why don’t we just laugh it off?” – Basically that line means, “It’s only because you’re so stupid to fall for it that I got in the mood to act the idiot and fool you, it’s not like I did anything serious, it’s fun to see now you know I was lying. No big deal – wasn’t that funny?”

ペテン師が笑う頃に
 Petenshi ga Warau Koro ni
 When Swindlers Laugh
歌詞・編曲・プログラミング:梨本うい

愛されていたのは 君じゃなくて 僕自身さ
声の聞こえる方へ ひざまずいて 空を拝む

aisareteita no wa kimi ja nakute boku jishin’ sa
koe no kikoeru hou e hizamazuite sora wo ogamu

It’s not you that’s “loved” – It’s me.
You heard me. Why don’t you just fall to your knees and stare emptily into the sky.

紅錆びた色

kurenai sabita iro

A nice rusted crimson.

死にたがりのピエロは 化粧もせずマヌケ面
夜更かしも程々に 朝が来るよ逃げなくちゃ何処へ

shinitagari no pierrot wa keshou mo sezu manukedzura
yofukashi mo hodohodo ni asa ga kuru yo nigenakucha doko e

The “depressed clowns” all look stupid without their makeup.
I’ve got to keep these all-nighters in check, the morning’s coming and I’ve gotta dash!

騙され上手は床上手 他人の不幸は蜜の味
アバズレ貴婦人まる裸 渡る世間はバカばかり

damasare jouzu wa toko jouzu tanin’ no fukou wa mitsu no aji
abazure kifujin’ maruhadaka wataru seken’ wa baka bakari

It’s always the easily deceived that are the best in bed! Others’ misfortune’s just like honey!
Now a bitch, now a lady, stripped stark naked – Society’s just filled with idiots I’m telling ya!

ペテン師が笑う頃に 安い不幸自慢でお涙ちょーだい
ペテン師が笑う頃に わめくキチガイ善人ピュアな人害
都会に咲く花のように なんて気付かなければ無意味な存在
明後日の今頃には その醜い身体を忘れてしまいたいの

petenshi ga warau koro ni yasui fukoujiman’ de onamida choudai
petenshi ga warau koro ni wameku kichigai zen’nin’ pure na jin’gai
tokai ni saku hana no you ni nan’te kidzukanakereba muimi na son’zai
asatte no imagoro ni wa sono minikui karada wo wasureteshimaitai no

When swindlers laugh – Give me your cheap tears, oh so proud of all your misfortune!
When swindlers laugh – Go ahead and wail about bad things happening to “good people”!
“Like a flower blossoming in the city…” If no one’s taking any notice, you don’t mean shit.
It’s been two days and already I want to forget that ugly body of yours.

ブラウン管越しの死体に 興味ないのリアルじゃない
そんなに怖いのなら 念仏でも唱えなさい南無阿弥陀仏

brown-kan goshi no shitai ni kyoumi nai no real ja nai
son’na ni kowai no nara nen’butsu demo tonaenasai namu amida butsu

I’ve got no interest in corpses on the other end of the TV-Tube, they’re not real.
If you’re so afraid then why don’t you pray to Buddha, Go Ahead! “Namu Amida Butsu!”

幸せを運ぶ青い鳥 羽がもげればただのゴミ
騙されるアホに騙すアホ 同じアホなら笑いましょ

shiawase wo hakobu aoi tori hane ga mogereba tada no gomi
damasareru aho ni damasu aho onaji aho nara waraimasho

If you rip the wings off the “Blue Bird of Happiness”, all that’s left is garbage.
It’s your fault as much as mine for falling for me. Why don’t we just laugh it off?

ペテン師が笑う頃に 薄っぺらいプライド語ってちょーだい
ペテン師が笑う頃に がなる自称教祖様酷い醜態
ありきたりなラブソング なんて退屈過ぎて聴きたくないわ
愛のカタチ捜すよりも 先にするべきこと何なのか知ってるでしょ

peten’shi ga warau koro ni usupperai pride katatte choudai
peten’shi ga warau koro ni ga naru jishou kyousosama hidoi shuutai
arikitari na love song nan’te taikutsu sugite kikitakunai wa
ai no katachi sagasu yori mo saki ni surubeki koto nan’ na no ka shitteru desho

When swindlers laugh – Go ahead and talk your cheap pride!
When swindlers laugh – You sound like some self-proclaimed prophet! Do you see yourself?
I don’t want to hear any of those worn out love songs you hear all the time, I’m bored damn it!
Before you’re all off “searching for what love is”, you know what you need to do first, right?

夢から醒めた羊たちは 眠ることもできず廻る廻る
何時まで何処まで 迷子ならさぁおいで
もっと愛せ強くしゃぶれ骨の髄まで

yume kara sameta hitsujitachi nemuru koto mo dekizu mawaru mawaru
itsu made doko made maigo nara saa oide
motto aise tsuyoku shabure hone no zui made

The little lost lambs that have woken from their dreams wander and wander unable to sleep.
If you’re going to be lost forever and ever, why don’t you just come back to me?
I’ll “love” you more, and suck you dry, all the way down to the marrow in your bones!

ペテン師が笑う頃に 安い不幸自慢でお涙ちょーだい
ペテン師が笑う頃に わめくキチガイ善人ピュアな人害
都会に咲く花のように なんて五分もすれば忘れる存在
明後日の今頃には その醜い身体を忘れてしまいたい

petenshi ga warau koro ni yasui fukoujiman’ de onamida choudai
petenshi ga warau koro ni wameku kichigai zen’nin’ pure na jin’gai
tokai ni saku hana no you ni nan’te gofun’ mo sureba wasureru sonzai
asatte no imagoro ni wa sono minikui karada wo wasureteshimaitai

When swindlers laugh – Give me your cheap tears, oh so proud of all your misfortune!
When swindlers laugh – Go ahead and wail about bad things happening to “good people”!
“Like a flower blossoming in the city…” you don’t take five minutes to forget.
It’s been two days and already I want to forget that ugly body of yours.

敬意ある君にこの言葉贈るわ   死ね。

keii aru watashi ni kono kotoba okuru wa – shine.

Here. Since I respect you and all, how about I give you a few words?
 -“Why don’t you just die?”

    • exalt
    • February 24th, 2012

    ペテン師 is also the name of the illustrator for the circle Dr Vermilion ^^|||

    • ninryu
    • February 25th, 2012

    After a few long years and 100K translations – this song finally got translated by Kafka. Congratulations.

    • I’d been wanting to translate it since around C80 when I heard 灯油/Pizuya’s arrangement of it – it’s been years since I’ve been really in the position to call myself a Miku/Vocaloid fan, so yeah… >.>

    • Chou
    • February 25th, 2012

    I think I remember this song from back when I used to be a fan of vocaloids, I always found the lyrics interesting back then and I like them more now due to translation notes.

    Also on an unrelated note, I noticed that you mentioned that you’re looking for people to give feedback on your rough translation of The Talisman of Despots, I’d gladly offer some feedback.

    Times like this I really do think I should get a twitter, although I then remember that I’d completely forget about it whenever I actually wanted to use a twitter account and most likely repeat this paragraph…
    Yeah, I probably should get one just in case I do remember!

    • βlǻ¢k- DaLl
    • December 2nd, 2012

    yeah i agree with u , it does make a lot sense with a male singer so please check this one :

    • Ichiruzuka
    • June 12th, 2013

    have you listened the Glutamine verion of this song? It’s very amazing…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

