Archive for January 3rd, 2012

生きる // Ikiru

Short and Simple. I like it.

I can honestly say it took me longer to do the romaji than the translation.

Notes:

“When autumn came their hands were golden / I couldn’t touch them” could also be “When autumn came they were golden / Your(/Their) hands, I couldn’t touch them.” but since the 2nd person is completely absent for the entirety of the song, I went with the first interpretation.

生きる
 Ikiru
 Living
夜のデンデラ野を逝く|蓮台野夜行
歌:ランコ
編曲・作詞:コンプ
サークル:豚乙女
アルバム:怨言神楽謌
イベント:C81

薄暗い山にあった
やけに高い場所にあった
行けなくはない距離だった
行く気にはなれなかった

usugurai yama ni atta
yake ni takai basho ni atta
ikenaku wa nai kyori datta
ikuke ni wa narenakatta

It was in the dim mountains.
It was in a high place.
It wasn’t so far as I couldn’t go,
But I didn’t feel like it.

陽が昇り沈み「おやすみ」で眠る
目が覚めて 笑顔一つ消える

hi ga nobori shizumi “oyasumi” de nemuru
me ga samete egao hitotsu kieru

The sun rises and falls and sleeps, “Good night”
I wake, and my smile disappears.

でも生きる まだ生きる 終わるまで
そしてまた陽は昇り沈み
眠る様に逝く

demo ikiru mada ikiru owaru made
soshite mata hi wa nobori shizumi
nemuru you ni iku

But I live, I still live, until it’s all over
And so the sun rises and falls again
Crossing over as if it were sleeping

かじかんだ手で蒔いた
種は今 芽を出した
秋が来て金に染まった
その手 触れられなかった

kajikanda te de maita
tane wa ima me wo dashita
aki ga kite kin ni somatta
sono te furerarenakatta

The seeds I planted with my frozen hands
Now have sprouted buds
When autumn came their hands were golden
I couldn’t touch them

陽が沈み昇り「おはよう」で起きる
あの山にもまた朝日が差す

hi ga shizumi nobori “ohayou” de okiru
ano yama ni mo mata asahi ga sasu

The sun falls and rises and wakes, “Good morning”
Morning comes once again to that mountain

また生きる まだ生きる 終わるまで
輝いたあの日だけ抱いて
人知れず逝く

mata ikiru mada ikiru owaru made
kagayaita ano hi dake idaite
hitoshirezu iku

I live again, I still live, until it’s all over
And I embrace that shining sun
Crossing over unseen

でも生きる まだ生きる 終わるまで
そしてまた陽は昇り沈み
眠る様に逝く

demo ikiru mada ikiru owaru made
soshite mata hi wa nobori shizumi
nemuru you ni iku

But I live, I still live, until it’s all over
And so the sun rises and falls again
Crossing over as if it were sleeping

冥き途 // Kuraki Michi

It’s been a while since I’ve translated any Buta-Otome. At least I get that feeling – I remember when I was trying to translate every song they ever wrote, but that just seems impossible for me at this point, unless I dropped everything else ^^; This song’s from their 10th vocal album. That’s crazy! They only had two albums out in total when I got to meet them!

Anyway, this song is spectacular. Ranko really knows how to handle strained emotion in her voice. I’m a little frustrated because some of the purities of the meaning (as all the word interconnections and phrases are very simple) are lost in translation. In the original song you can feel more of the power of each thought, because it feels as if a spirit full of regret and pain is just barely piecing the words together. You see a couple of ellipses (…)s to help illustrate it, and there would be more if I could stand it, but still.

Notes:
Uncommon kanji usage in the title, but the symbol for dark, 冥 is the same that is used in 冥土/冥府 for “hell”. I don’t know if there’s any particular reason for using 途, other than it’s got more of a “journey/travel” feel to it, and that it is used in words such as 途切れる (interrupted), 途絶える (severed/ceased), and 一途 (one-track intense) / Update: apparently 冥き途 is another one of those set phrases I didn’t know for “the afterlife/hell/hades/land of the dead”. I’m going to stick with “Dark Road” though because I want the emphasis on travel (as her emotions are turning to karma – in other words it’s a progression.)

冥き途
 Kuraki Michi
 Dark Road
ゴーストリード|東方神霊廟
歌:ランコ
編曲・歌詞:コンプ
サークル:豚乙女
アルバム:怨言神楽謌
イベント:C81

幾重に重ねた命が幾重に朽ちてゆく
震えるその長い指は空を掴む様に

ikue ni kasaneta inochi ga ikue ni kuchiteyuku
furueru sono nagai yubi wa sora wo tsukamu you ni

So many lives layered upon each other, all rotting just the same
Their long shivering fingers reaching, as if grasping for the sky

ただ触れたい 貴方に触れたい
貴方が見えない どうして?

tada furetai anata ni furetai
anata ga mienai doushite?

I just want… I just want to feel your touch
But I can’t see you… Why?

夢見て 抱きしめたり傷ついたり
求めて道に迷う
壊れた欠片達は戻らないの?
祈りは闇

yume mite dakishimetari kizutsuitari
motomete michi mi mayou
kowareta kakera-tachi wa modoranai no?
inori wa yami

Chasing dreams, we embraced, we were hurt
We lost our way…
The broken pieces won’t be made whole again…?
Prayers, only darkness

途切れた儚い想いはカルマに変わっていく
綺麗な身体に宿った暗闇は消せない

togireta hakanai omoi wa karma ni kawatteku
kirei na karada ni yadotta kurayami wa kesenai

My interrupted, fleeting emotions change to karma;
I can’t erase the darkness that dwelt within my beautiful body

ただ知りたい 貴方を知りたい
貴方が見えない 許して…

tada shiritai anata wo shiritai
anata ga mienai yurushite…

I just want… I just want to know you
But I can’t see you… Please forgive me…

夢見て 愛しんだり傷つけたり
求めて生に迷う
望んだカタチなんて元からない
祈りは闇

yume mite itoshindari kizutuketari
motomete sei ni mayou
nozon’da katachi nante moto kara nai
inori wa yami

Chasing dreams, we loved, we hurt each other
We lost our way in life…
But what we wished for, was never there to begin with.
Prayers, only darkness

夢見て 抱きしめたり傷ついたり
求めて道に迷う
壊れた欠片達は戻らないの?
祈りは闇

yume mite dakishimetari kizutsuitari
motomete michi ni mayou
kowareta kakera tachi wa modoranai no?
inori wa yami

Chasing dreams, we embraced, we were
Hurt, we lost our way…
These broken pieces won’t be made whole again…?
Prayers, only darkness

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers