Native Sage

^Did you know patchouli was a fragrance? (Well if you want to be technical it’s a plant) I found this out when I went to Japan. o.o; Like you can get patchouli incense sticks.

Congratulations, Patchouli, even if you had to beat Renko to do it, for getting to the second round of Seimoe. (if you have no idea what I’m talking about, see here: [link])

Sorry for the sudden shutdown of posting, I’ve been having a lot of problems with my headphones, and finally they croaked, so to speak. I already bought new ones and they’re on their way; thank you for those who offered to gift me some for Christmas, but I can’t wait that long :3

I have that Flandre song from this album on my list to translate soon too – I just have a personal love for ヴワル魔法図書館 – I probably love it more than locked girl, actually.

So I spent time transcribing a grimoire to prepare myself for this song. wwww (no really.)

This song is really cool – and sort of parable-ic. Especially the end, when Patchy sort of becomes the sun.

Notes:
This word: 堆く for some reason refused to be recognized by my linux computer’s IME. I tried editing the main dictionaries by hand to add it in and it wouldn’t work, used updater tools and etc, but modified-anthy works differently than anthy and it just wouldn’t let me add it into the system. *sigh* Oh well. – I’ll just have to use the alternate method, radical → kanji builder to words that won’t build well and don’t have any alternate words to pull from.

“All I close” – alright so it sounds a little awkward. The first line in the song feels sort of like it’s refuting the phrase “Locked Girl”, it’s as if to say “Locked Girl? No. I have only closed myself – of my own accord – behind these walls of knowledge as a fortress, not a prison.”

“As I recite ciphered magic” → it’s more like “I recite (from a book) (understanding [something that requires some sort of mental capacity or ability to understand] as I’m reading) magic” – ie. it doesn’t have to be a cipher, but a lot of grimoires were written in ciphers or codes and what have you, in addition to being intentionally difficult to understand so… *throws hands up in the air*

the ” – yet” s are more for flow than anything else :x

Native Sage
ヴワル魔法図書館|東方紅魔郷
ラクトガール〜少女密室|東方紅魔郷
Vocal: CALEN
Arranged by 8STYLE
Lyric by Blue E
Circle: SOUND HOLIC
Album: Metallic Vampire
Event: M3-28

閉ざすは積み上げた智の砦 破られることなき壁
堆く聳え立つ幾億の言葉達

tozasu wa tsumiageta chi no toride yaburareru koto naki kabe
uzutakaku sobietatsu ikuoku no kotobatachi

All I close is my constructed fortress of wisdom, walls which will never fall
Made of hundreds of millions of words raised high, towering above

掘り下げた秘の調べ 仄暗く揺れる水面
空蝉の儚さが浮き上がる刹那に

horisageta hi no shirabe honokuraku yureru minamo
utsusemi no hakanasa ga ukiagaru setsuna ni

A melody buried secret in the earth rises out of the water rippling in the faint darkness
With every moment the futility of another’s worldly life rises to its surface

見とれたまま 夜が更けるだけ
読み齧りの魔法 唱えながら

mitoreta mama yoru ga fukeru dake
yomikajiri no mahou tonaenagara

I gaze on enchanged, and the night only deepens
As I recite ciphered magic

生まれ堕ちた日より宿す力 指先で弄ぶ
あぁ 最果てを遥か 照らす炎には及ばぬ我が身
また 気付かされる狂おしい朝

umareochita hi yori yadosu chikara yubisaki de moteasobu
aa saihate wo haruka terasu hi ni wa oyobanu wa ga mi
mata kidzukasareru kuruoshii asa

Its power within, taken from the birthed and fallen sun; this with my fingertips I play – yet
Ah, that flame which illuminates infinitely to alls end; that my body cannot reach
Again I am reminded with this maddening morning…

静かに携えた理の刃 挫かれることなき爪
歪みなく 鈍りなく 愚かしさを断ち切る

shizuka ni tazusaeta ri no yaiba kijikareru koto naki tsume
hizuminaku niburinaku orokashisa wo tachikiru

I wield silently blades of logic, claws which will never break
Which without warping or blunting I sever idiocy

放たれた美の氷雨 掻い潜る術許さず
退ける 討ち果たす 憐れな迷い子を

hanatareta bi no hisame kaikuguru sube yurusazu
shirizokeru uchihatasu aware na mayoigo wo

I release a beautiful hailstorm, not leaving any way to slip through
To repel, to eliminate, what pitiful lost children that wander in

鏤められ結ばれる星座
哀しい物語 なぞりながら

chiribamerare musubareru seiza
kanashii monogatari nazorinagara

Tracing the sorrowful tales of the constellations
Encrusted with diamonds and bound together

熱く冷たい風 招く力 戯れに撒き散らす
あぁ 古の彼方 偲ぶ夢が奏でる音は
ただ 滅び示す恐ろしい歌

atsuku tsumetai kaze maneku chikara tawamure ni makichirasu
aa inishie no kanata shinobu yume ga kanaderu oto wa
tada horobishimesu osoroshii uta

Power which beckons winds both scorching and biting; this I waken and scatter in jest – yet
Ah, these notes that play out of dreams recalled from the ancient past;
What are they, but a frightening song of destruction?

頂へと至るこの回廊
身動ぎもせぬまま 昇り詰めて

itadaki e to itaru kono kairou
mijirogi mo senu mama noboritsumete

As I near the climax, to this spiralling corridor,
Without hesitation I ascend to the final summit

生まれ堕ちた日より宿す力 指先で弄ぶ
あぁ 最果てを遥か 照らす炎には及ばぬ我が身
ただ 気付かされる狂おしさ

umareochita hi yori yadosu chikara yubisaki de moteasobu
aa saihate wo haruka terasu honoo ni wa oyobanu wa ga mi
tada kidzukasareru kuruoshisa

What power within, taken from the birthed and fallen sun; this with my fingertips I play – yet
Ah, that flame which illuminates infinitely to alls end; that my body cannot reach
Again I am reminded of my insanity…

熱く冷たい風 招く力 戯れに撒き散らす
あぁ 古の彼方 偲ぶ夢が奏でる音は
ただ 滅び示す恐ろしい歌

atsuku tsumetai kaze maneku chikara tawamure ni makichirasu
aa inishie no kanata shinobu yume ga kanaderu oto wa
tada horobishimesu osoroshii uta

Power which beckons winds both scorching and biting; this I waken and scatter in jest – yet
Ah, these notes that play out of dreams recalled from the ancient past;
What are they, but a frightening song of destruction?

時を越えて 空を染めて

toki wo koete sora wo somete

So I transcend time and paint the sky…


  1. Kaffff, I need your help immediately o:
    Can you translate this sentence?
    まあ、一時IVにしようか、って時期もあったんですけど。今までの流れとはちょっと違うんで、ここは違うタイトルでいこうよ、と。

    Thanks in advance, LOTS OF THANK YOU <3

    • Well, without context I’m not really sure what he’s talking about… but.

      There was a time once when we’d be like, “Well for the time being lets go with ‘IV'”… but given how things have been lately, I think we should go for a different title.

      ^there’s the gist.

      • Thank you so much! The thing is that, my boyfriend was arguing with some people calling Strange Journey (a game for DS) ‘Shin Megami Tensei IV”.
        So he had a hunch that paragraph would say something.
        Thanks, you’re awesome as always, Kaf <3

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

