Fantasy // UN-GO Ending Theme

UN-GO is my favorite show this season. It has a few of the pitfalls that befall all historical attempts to render mystery in 22 minute segments, but I believe it is truly unique, relevant and amazing.

If you would like another translation, (Bamboo)XZX’s got this one [site-link] / I haven’t looked at it yet, but he’s good at these types of songs and does more anime lyrics :) I’m actually a little curious myself and will compare after I post :3 – I’ll probably do “How to Go” soon, if you like schoolfoodpunishment he’s got almost all of their stuff translated, so…

Anyway – time to jump; Don’t worry, I’ll be getting back to Metallic Vampire shortly.

Notes:
I believe I’ve ranted about the word 景色 before, which I translate into ****-scape. Scape by itself would sound ridiculous, so city, land, sky, star whatever I feel.

This time around I tried using more simple sentences/phrases – I’m hoping it doesn’t sound unnatural.

“whispered prayers” I made this plural and past to express it as part of the environment. The whole song has a bit of an impersonal/selfless narration to it and I think nudging the English translation in that direction works more along those lines. In fact the fact that it was plain present tense in the original lyrics makes it more environmental, past or using a connective (て) would have made it more volitional and personal – but really this is me just going with the flow of what I feel.

Looking for the “truth”, ‘even if it’s a “lie”‘ ← I look for the “truth”, (as if) saying ‘I don’t care if you all you’ll give me is lies, (just tell me)” revised to → even if all you have for me is “lies” (direct quotation to indirect quotation)

“We keep on getting closer” ← getting closer as if to an answer, but it works both ways now doesn’t it :3

“Looking for, finding more” ← this is really more like – “Looking for, finding…” but I wasn’t satisfied with that objectless phrase, so I went with a rhyme, and also something that expressed that while finding this and that – we still haven’t arrived at that one over arching answer I feel the song is about seeking.

“I go/We go” ← I really hope this doesn’t sound too awkward – but I think it’s necessary to express the progression of てゆく in those particular lines. (and yes the idea most likely came from the title of the OP “how to go”.

Fantasy
作詞:LAMA
作曲:LAMA

淡い朝もやに ささやく祈り
歪んだ景色を 君となぞってゆく

awai asamoya ni sasayaku inori
yuganda keshiki wo kimi to nazotteyuku

Through the faint morning mist’s whispered prayers…
I go, tracing this twisted cityscape with you.

“本当”を求め、「“嘘”でもいいから」なんてね
見透かしあう様に たどってく

“hontou” wo motome, ‘”uso” demo ii kara’ nante ne
misukashiau you ni tadotteku

Looking for the “truth”, even if all you have for me is “lies”
We keep on getting closer, as if we’re looking through each other.

Looking for 言葉越えて
おちていく 羽のように
Looking for ミツケテ
ここで よりそうように

looking for kotoba koete
ochiteiku hane no you ni
looking for mitsukete
koko de yorisou you ni

Looking for, transcending words
Like falling feathers
Looking for, finding more
As if we’re coming together…

Looking for 解きほどいて
ちぎれる 雲のように
Looking for ミツケテ
ここで よりそうように

looking for tokihodoite
chigireru kumo no you ni
looking for mitsukete
koko de yorisou you ni

Looking for, unraveling
Like fragmenting clouds
Looking for, finding more
As if we’re coming together…

理由を求める同士 隙間つむぐ時
癒えぬかさぶたを そっと剥がしてゆく

wake wo motomeru doushi sukima tsumugu toki
ienu kasabuta wo sotto kagashiteyuku

Both of us looking for a reason, time tying the gaps
We go, peeling off the scabs that just won’t heal…

「“綺麗”が“嘘”でも どうでもいい」だなんてね
許し合うために たどってく

‘”kirei” ga “uso” demo dou demo ii’ da nante ne
yurushiau tame ni tadotteku

It doesn’t matter if all we thought “beautiful” is a “lie”
We keep on getting closer, so we can forgive each other

Looking for 手を伸ばして
よせあう 波のように
Looking for ミツケテ
ここで よりそうように

looking for te wo nobashite
yoseau nami no you ni
looking for mitsukete
koko de yorisou you ni

Looking for, reaching outward
Like waves meeting
Looking for, finding more
As if we’re coming together…

Looking for 照らし出して
さすらう 月のように
Looking for ミツケテ
ここで よりそうように

looking for terashidashite
sasurau tsuki no you ni
looking for mitsukete
koko de yorisou you ni

Looking for, shining
Like the wandering moon
Looking for, finding more
As if we’re coming together…

Looking for…



    • Egakiar444
    • December 2nd, 2011

    That picture of Kazamori is great. Where did it come from?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

