my Sweet Vampress

It was hard to limit myself to 4 images for this post, I mean, it’s Remilia Scarlet and Izayoi Sakuya.

my Sweet Vampress – or – my Sweet Vampiress (if you will)

First of all thank you Jaefine for getting me scans. :)

I love this song :3 it’s definitely my favorite on the album. I mean take two of my most favorite characters, two of my favorite themes, metal, and Nana Takahashi? Yeah.

Notes:
The structure of the lyrics in this song are very fine tuned, which means unfortunately that I have to mess with them to make them flow in English D: I’ll try my best to keep the imagery and the beauty! and some peculiarities of the structure (at the very least, as always, I’ll get the meaning in there right)

“To bury her!!” ← These are what I like to call despair exclamation marks, two bad they don’t have their own special symbol.

“awesome pressure” ← of course, not in the colloquial sense of the word.

I think it’s something to imagine the night of Sakuya and Remilia’s meeting. Because as we all know, “Izayoi Sakuya” is naught but the name -Remilia- gave her when they met (and she tied her fate): “Flowering Night of the 16th Moon.” :3

“darker than cast shadows” ← contrast (edge) light v. dark shadows, as opposed to the fuzzy kind.

“Burned a black pulse into me…” ← I couldn’t find a graceful way to add the clockwork aspect/implication in, but you get it right? Heartbeat/Tick-Tock.

“To those blood stained fingers free from all taint…” I love, and I mean I -LOVE- the irony/contradiction in this line. Pure, innocent, blood-stained fingers that know nothing of/have not experienced corruption, taint or disgrace.

sweet dear Vampress
メイドと血の懐中時計|東方紅魔郷
月時計〜ルナ・ダイアル|東方紅魔郷
Vocal: Nana Takahashi
Arranged by 8STYLE
Lyric by Blue E
Circle: SOUND HOLIC
Album: Metallic Vampire
Event: M3-28

あぁ 紅く ただ 血塗られた
畏れを纏う その牙

aa akaku tada chinurareta
osore wo matou sono kiba

Ah, So scarlet – drenched in blood
Those fangs which strike fear in all…

滅ぼすための 殺すための銀の刃
そう 突き刺すために 葬り去るために
ここへ来たのに

horobosu tame no korosu tame no gin no yaiba
sou tsukisasu tame ni houmurisaru tame ni
koko e kita no ni

These silver knifes were made to destroy, made to kill…
Yes, at first I came here – to pierce her
To bury her!!

切り裂く視線と甘い囁きの
安らぐ誘いを受け入れた夜に

kirisaku shisen to amai sasayaki no
yasuragu sasoi wo ukeireta yoru ni

That night, when I accepted her pacifying invitation
Of sweet whisperings and rending stares…

静かな言葉が示す悦びで
かつての願いを投げ出した夜に

shizuka na kotoba ga shimesu yorokobi de
katsute no negai wo nagedashita yoru ni

That night, when I abandoned my former desires
In the ecstasy that these quiet words express…

時計の針では計らない刻が
重く圧し掛かり平伏した夜に

tokei no hari de wa hakaranai toki ga
omoku asshikakari hirefushita yoru ni

That night, when I was made to bow under the awesome pressure
Of a time the hands of a clock would not measure…

瞬く命にしがみつく脆さ
揺れる儚さを思い知らされただけ…

matataku inochi ni shigamitsuku morosa
yureru hakanasa wo omoi shirasareta dake…

I was only reminded of the fragility of
Clinging desperately to a flickering life, of its wavering transience…

My fear…

あぁ 過去に まだ 囚われた
この身が知る 行く末

aa kako ni mada torawareta
kono mi ga shiru yukusue

Ah, I am still a captive to my past
To this fate I know all too well…

限りある生 彷徨うのが人の運命
そう 愚かな夢を諦め切れたとき
救われるだろう

kagiri aru toki samayou no ga hito no sadame
sou oroka na yume wo akiramekireta toki
sukuwareru darou

Though life has such limits on time, it is humanity’s fate to falter…
So I wonder – Might we be saved the moment we gave up on
Our idiotic dreams?

微笑み浮かべた偉大な力が
跪く愛を芽吹かせた夜に

hohoemi ukabeta idai na chikara ga
hizamazuku ai wo mebukaseta yoru ni

That night, when her incredible power raised with a smile
Made blossom an submissive love…

悪の花びらが闇に咲き誇り
心に深く根を下ろした夜に

aku no hanabira ga yami ni sakihokori
kokoro ni fukaku ne wo oroshita yoru ni

That night, when wicked flowers blossoming proudly in the darkness
Took root deep within my heart…

影よりも暗く眩しい光が
黒い時めきを焼き付けた夜に

kage yori mo kuraku mabushii hikari ga
kuroi tokimeki wo yakitsuketa yoru ni

That night, when a dazzling light darker than cast shadows
Burned a black pulse into me…

穢れを知らない血塗れの指に
愛しさを込めた接吻を捧ぐだけ…

kegare wo shiranai chimamire no yubi ni
itoshisa wo kometa kuchidzuke wo sasagu dake…

I could only offer up a kiss filled with love
To those blood stained fingers free from all taint and impurity…

切り裂く視線と甘い囁きの
安らぐ誘いを受け入れた夜に

kirisaku shisen to amai sasayaki no
yasuragu sasoi wo ukeireta yoru ni

That night, when I accepted her pacifying invitation
Of sweet whisperings and rending stares…

静かな言葉が示す悦びに
かつての願いを投げ出した夜に

shizuka na kotoba ga shimesu yorokobi de
katsute no negai wo nagedashita yoru ni

That night, when I abandoned my former desires
In the ecstasy that those quiet words expressed…

時計の針では計らない刻が
重く圧し掛かり平伏した夜に

tokei no hari de wa hakaranai toki ga
omoku asshikakari hirefushita yoru ni

That night, when I was made to bow under the awesome pressure
Of a time the hands of a clock would not measure…

瞬く命にしがみつく脆さ
揺れる儚さを思い知らされただけ…

matataku inochi ni shigamitsuku morosa
yureru hakanasa wo omoi shirasareta dake…

I was only reminded of the fragility of
Clinging desperately to a flickering life, of its wavering transience…

My fear…
you’re sweet dear Vampress

^It was this pose that defeated Sakuya.


I know I’ve got a ton of images already, but one more – it’s watercolor >:D

  1. よくできました,kafkafuuraさん。アルバムでぼくも好きな歌です。英訳をありがとうございます。

    • どういたしまして、英訳するには楽しい曲でした。(˵╹∀╹˶)

    • yuyukos
    • November 22nd, 2011

    My favorite two songs from this album back to back? imokaywiththis.

    • :3 I loved Metallical Astronomy, and with Metallic Vampire, it doesn’t look like it was a one shot thing – I can’t wait!! >:D

    • scrpn516
    • November 25th, 2011

    Almost done subbing this for my channel. One thing I’m wondering about though; for the line 脆く愛を芽吹かせた夜に (moroku ai wo mebukaseta yoru ni), it sounds like instead of “moroku” there’s “isamasuku” (or something that sounds like that).

    • Fixed! I there were actually a couple more errors – I think I was in a hurry and didn’t check through the romaji (which I usually make myself do D:) but everything’s fixed and two lines were changed to reflect the mistakes. 脆く (hizamazuku) and 跪く (moroku) look similar enough when the scans you’re looking at are blurry >.> <.<

      Always I have to thank you guys for catching this sort of stuff D:

        • scrpn516
        • November 26th, 2011

        Thank you for providing the translations! :D

    • Fukkatsu
    • November 26th, 2011

    Oh lord, how could I possibly miss SH’s latest album? I thought I already listened to it! D: Damn I’m with you on this being the best out of the album, this one seriously ROCKS. Downloading the rest of the songs atm… <3

    • Dustbunny
    • November 28th, 2011

    Woooah I haven’t heard any of Sakuya’s themes sound this good in a while. This is amazing. Thank you!! :D

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

