変わりゆく世界のために // Kawariyuku Sekai no Tame ni

^I don’t get to search for original pictures that often, so it was a kind of fun.

Requested by: Mushyrulez/iKieramieche

A very lovely song. That lightly, faintly optimistic feel is… soothing sometimes.

I don’t think I would have picked up on the fact that this was sung by chata if I didn’t know before hand – I’m more used to her ENS (Lucent Wish/Lucid Dream etc.) and Anime House Project stuff (YOU GET TO BURNING is pretty great), not to mention -min- on Sally.

Everyone still waiting on the list – I’m trying ^^;; I’m not going to lie about the fact that I probably give more preference to people I know more and songs I like more and whatever happens to be aligned to my mood at the time – but I’m starting to feel bad about those people that have been on the list for who knows how long…. m(_ _)m ごめんなしゃい…

Notes:
The height of the sky:
low=stormy (clouds are low-hanging/overcast), high=clear (the only clouds are high in the sky)
^I could have just said stormy I guess, but I like this metaphor… so…

Because of the first line/stanza, when there was a question of “I” or “we” I went for “we”.

If you just believe all of this cycling hatred,
All of these senseless conflicts will one day settle
Isn’t it possible to love this country?
^It’s also very possible to interpret this stanza as “Now that [all of this] has begun to settle, if you think about it – isn’t it possible to love this country?” .. I don’t know, faced with both options I chose the first one. I think it fits better with the part about optimism where “though it’s more stormy today than it was yesterday (also doesn’t fit with things getting better if we assume the other option) I won’t let that keep my smile away.” – Maybe it’s more of a personal choice than anything else…

変わりゆく世界のために
 Kawariyuku Sekai no Tame ni
歌:茶太
作曲:bassy
歌詞:bassy
Circle: Barbarian on the Groove
Album: Dragon Valley Misterio
Event: C71

遥か遠くまで来たね 彼方続く道の
先に繋がるものさえ 今はまだ分からないの

haruka tooku made kita ne kanata tsudzuku michi no
saki ni tsunagaru mono sae ima wa mada wakaranai no

Look at how far we’ve come down this ever reaching road
We still don’t even know where it will take us yet

いつか思い描いてた そんな未来は無く
けれど現実という名の 歯車は回り出す

itsuka omoi egaiteta sonna mirai wa naku
keredo genjitsu to iu na no haguruma wa mawaridasu

Not to the future I once dreamt of
But the wheels of reality will keep turning

あと10年もう100年 過ぎれば 変わりゆく この世界
僕らはもうここに いないけれど
守りたいものがある

ato juunen mou hyakunen sugireba kawariyuku kono sekai
bokura wa mou koko ni inai keredo
mamoritai mono ga aru

Another ten years, another hundred years.. this world will keep changing
We may not be here to see it, but there are still
Things I want to protect

繰り返す憎しみと 愚かな人々の争いも
やがて薄れゆく 思いならば
この国を愛せるだろう

kurikaesu nikushimi to oroka na hitobito no arasoi mo
yagate usureyuku omoinaraba
kono kuni wo aiseru darou

If you just believe all of this cycling hatred,
All of these senseless conflicts will one day settle
Isn’t it possible to love this country?

一人また一人友は 遠く離れてゆく
幾度無くし続ければ 悲しみに慣れるのかな?

hitori mata hitori tomo wa tooku hanareteyuku
ikudo nakushitsudzukereba kanashimi ni nareru no ka na?

Another and then another of our friends move far away
How many times will it take before I am used to this sadness?

昨日より少し空は 低く映るけれど
けっして かげり無き笑顔 いつまでも消えないで

kinou yori sukoshi sora wa hikuku utsuru keredo
kesshite kagerinaki egao itsu made mo kienai de

The sky looks a little lower than it did yesterday, but
I won’t let any shadow fall on my smile

あと少しもう少し歩いてみようかな この先に
めぐりあうものが 運命ならば
僕はまだ終われない

ato sukoshi mou sukoshi aruite miyou ka na kono saki ni
meguri au mono ga unmei naraba
boku wa mada owarenai

Just a bit further, let’s walk just a bit further on
If our chance meeting is fate
Then I can’t let this end yet

あと10年もう100年 過ぎれば 変わりゆく この世界
僕らもう いないけれど
変わらない想いがある

ato juunen mou hyakunen sugireba kawariyuku kono sekai
bokura wa mou koko ni inai keredo
mamoritai mono ga aru

Another ten years, another hundred years.. this world will keep changing
We may not be here to see it, but there are still
Things I want to protect

戻れない 帰れない
この道の その先へと

modorenai kaerenai
kono michi no sono saki e to

There’s no turning back,
I just keep walking further down this road

    • Dentsune
    • November 8th, 2011

    Such a beautiful song, very, very beautiful indeed.
    Thanks a lot for this translation! Please keep up the good work!~

    • Auriel
    • September 6th, 2012

    Thank you. I love this song, even before I read your translation. After reading it, I understand now why I do. It has this feeling/tone of sadness but continued determination. Regardless of what’s ahead, I’ll still be taking that step forward. Even if it’s painful, so long as I keep moving, maybe someday I’ll find what I’m looking for.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

