min ~眠~

Finally I got a hold of the Sally album booklet! :3

The rap makes up prologue and commentary, the singing is her song.

I interpret this song with the omnipresent nature of Kyouko in mind. She lives in a “dungeon” (fortress turned cage) before the gate of the (Myouren) shrine, but all roads (I would assume into the mountains) lead to her. This would make sense if you could consider that she exists where sound exists (above a certain altitude). She only gets to look at the sky and the rest of the world in a glimpse as her echo sounds. This makes sense with her “living in cracks of time” as well as how she lives in the cracks of the mountains, like the mountain flowers locked in crevices beside her.

I’ve been scatter-brained recently so forgive the messy post/notes, you can just skip to the lyrics below.

Notes:

On the title:
The symbol 眠 used means “sleep”, but unlike 寝 is not associated with “lying down” but with “closing ones eyes”. It is also associated with death, and given the nature of Ten Desires, I wouldn’t be surprised. Plus, the sort of prologue makes it seem like the narrator could once have been human, this is her death. But really it is more like sleep – her constant state is sleep, and she is only freed from it when she echoes. You could also say that running from the “material world” is like sleep, shutting your eyes to the world… Etc. You can throw lots of interpretations at it because it’s a simple title.

“Below my green eyes were a thousand countries”
^Worded in such a way that the green can be modifying either her eyes or the “thousand countries”. – I went with green eyes, because well – they’re green – they just don’t happen to be in the image above.

“But once when I was asked if there was really any meaning in this life”
^the word used for “life” is “walk” so life and death doesn’t really play into it.

I used “aberration” for “mononoke” – If you’ve seen the show “Mononoke” you can liken it more to that.

“I have even been likened to stone before”
^We all know how echos work right?

“Rose-colored, deep and quiet, a way to show myself, and my sutra”
^”my sutra”, meaning something that she’ll repeat again and again to herself

“There’s no way I can leave this place”
^It’s also possible to interpret this line as “my sobs won’t carry”, because “leaving this place” doesn’t have a set subject.

By the way, when she calls her own lyrics “Rose-Colored” that’s not exactly a complement.

min ~眠~
 Sleep
門前の妖怪小娘|東方神霊廟
歌:茶太
編曲:NSY
作詞:shuriken
サークル:サリー (Sally)
アルバム:Sally
イベント:C80

世に虚しさが満ちるならば
其れを捨て 向かう一路彼方
稜線 尾根に沿う裸弦の月
緑の眼下には千の国

yo ni munashisa ga michiru naraba
sore wo sute mukau ichiro kanata
ryousen one ni sou ragen no tsuki
midori no ganka ni wa sen no kuni

I thought, if the world is so filled with emptiness,
Why not throw it all away and take that road into the distance
Along the mountain ridge I saw the clear crescent moon tracing its spur
Below my green eyes were a thousand countries

旅ならば全てが私の参道
難攻不落 門前のダンジョン
反響す 錯乱の伴奏
演者なきとき 帰還者の談

tabi naraba subete ga watashi no sandou
nankou-furaku monzen no dungeon
hankyou su sakuran no bansou
enja naki toki kikansha no dan

For all those that journey, all roads will lead to me
In an impregnable dungeon that lies before the shrine gates
I play echoing accompaniments to lead all astray
When no one steps forward, the talk of those leaving

山河総共鳴 地割れに雨
怒れ天は人為の策に負けぬ
いかにもの知らぬと申されようが
断りなくば?この先は通さん

sanga-soukyoumei jiware ni ame
ikare ten wa jin’i no saku ni makenu
ike ni mono shiranu to mousareyou ga
kotoware nakuba kono saki wa toosan

The mountains and rivers will resonate, and rain falls in the fissures
When angered, the heavens will not fall to humans’ artificial vies
No matter what your excuses, no matter how you feign ignorance
If you don’t have permission, I will not let you pass

その歩 訳ありとは聞く
オアシス 忘れじのイチ道理
願いの源泉からの衝撃波
残っていた哀歌

sono aruki wake ari to wa kiku
oasis wasureji no ichi douri
negai no gensen kara no shougeki-ha
nokotteita aika

But once when I was asked if there was really any meaning in this life
I realized that in my oasis I had forgotten the most important truth
From the source of all I had wished for came a shock wave
All that remained with me was this song

時の狭間の
ほとりに咲く華のように
もうあなたを
見送るだけしかないから
つらい

toki no hazama no
hotori ni saku hana no you ni
mou anata wo
miokuru dake shika nai kara
tsurai

Living within cracks in time
Like this flower blossoming beside me
I realize now
There was nothing I could do but watch you go
And it hurts…

恐るな人よ、殺生は好かぬ
その声を返そう これも縁よ
鬼の面相など山に合わぬ。が
犬、鳥にあらずもののけである

osoru na hito yo, sesshou wa sukanu
sono koe wo kaesou kore mo en yo
oni no mensou nado yama ni awanu. ga
inu, tori ni arazu mononoke de aru

Please don’t fear me; I don’t like killing
I’ll return your voice, but that is only fate
It does not suit this mountain to hold vengence
Though I am not a dog nor bird, but a aberration

あるいは岩 とさえ言うものもいた
言葉は棘ともなると見た
詞は長い夜に溶けるやまびこ
バラ色 幽玄 気質の知行と経

arui wa iwa to sae iu mono mo ita
kotoba wa toge to mo naru to mita
shi wa nagai yo ni tokeru yamabiko
bara iro yuugen katagi no chigyou to kyou

I have even been likened to stone before
So I’ve seen how much words can be thorns
But my lyrics are just an echo melting into the long night
Rose-colored, deep and quiet, a way to show myself, and my sutra

そっと触れた夢の中身が
記憶で塗りつぶされ見えない

sotto fureta yume no nakami ga
kioku de nuritsubusare mienai

This dream I’ve just barely felt
Is painted over by my memories, and I can’t see anything

心のアザを
隠し通せるはずなどなく
もう弱さを
抱いてた腕に力が、、

kokoro no aza wo
kakushi tooseru hazu nado naku
mou yowasa wo
daiteta ude ni chikara ga, ,

There’s no way
I can keep hiding the bruises in my heart
Already the strength in my arms
Holding my weakness is…

ひとり泣いても
越えてゆけるはずなどなく
愛しい手の
跡がまだここにある、Love you, cry

hitori naitemo
koeteyukeru hazu nado naku
itoshii te no
ato ga mada koko ni aru, Love you, cry

Even if I cry alone
There’s no way I can leave this place
The mark your hands made
Is still left here with me – “I love you”, I cry

そっと触れた夢の中身は
ずっと 待てば来るような気がして

sotto fureta yume no nakami wa
zutto mateba kuru you na ki ga shite

This dream I’ve just barely felt
I believe that if I just keep waiting it might return

恋と染めてよ
この身小さく 儚い空
急いでよ
指の隙間から消え
You’re too,
Far

koi to somete yo
kono mi chiisaku hakanai sora
isoide yo
yubi no sukima kara kie
You’re too,
Far

Color me with love!
I shout to the fleeting sky
Please! Now!
But it slips through my fingers
You’re too,
Far

あなたを
見送るだけしかないから

anata wo
miokuru dake shika nai kara

There was nothing I could do but watch you go

  1. Good lord. These lyrics are so beautiful. Poor Kyouko…all of this makes me want to hug her tight. Thank you so much for translating this one, Kafka! <3
    Say, I was wondering since I heard this song, can I use your translation for a subbed video? (You'll be fully credited, of course.)

    • Distortion
    • August 20th, 2011

    And the Sally translations begin!

    • scrpn516
    • September 30th, 2011

    Firstly, thank you for all the song transations!

    Secondly, there seems to be some missing romaji near the end of the lyrics, between “kono mi chiisaku hakanai sora” and “yubi no sukima kara kie”.

    The kanji is “急いでよ” and according to a free kanji converter I used, the romaji would be “isoi de yo”. May I assume this is a correct translation?

    • Sorry about that – especially when I add the romaji in later I tend to be flying through it and I must have missed that line D:

      That is correct, and I just fixed the post :)

    • anonymous
    • March 1st, 2012

    Thank you!,now i love this song even more :_D

    • FantasyGensokyo
    • August 20th, 2013

    Heya, what would 断りなくば?この先は通さん mean literally translated? There’s a question mark in the kanji but not in the romaji.

    • Sorry for taking so long to reply!
      I haven’t even visited the site in a few days.

      Anyway I love answering these linguistic questions.

      断りなくば?=断り+(が/は)+なく+ば+?

      断り=permission (noun)
      なくば is for all intents and purposes equivalent to なければ (“if not”). Some people say it’s the nominalization of 無し+は that is sound changed to ば. Others say it’s just a simplified version of なければ. (though it’s pretty conclusive that it’s the former w/ examples like さもなくは→さもなくば). Either way the meaning barely changes from one interpretation to the other.

      So 断りなくば means “If you don’t have permission” and the question mark makes it more like “(So you’re asking me what happens) if you don’t have permission?”.

      Then here’s the second part.

      この先は通さん=この先は通さぬ=この先は通さないの=”I will not let you pass this point”.

      この=this
      先=point and beyond
      通す=to let through, to let pass.
      The ぬ part is classical grammar. (conjugate of ず negation auxiliary)

      Hope that helps!

        • FantasyGensokyo
        • September 5th, 2013

        Sure does, thanks. :]

    • Shogoun Kaliend
    • June 18th, 2016

    Hello!

    have “min” in the title any meaning?
    I’m translating this song into french, but I can’t get what “min” means :/

    • “Min” is just the “chinese based” reading for the character for sleep. :)

        • Shogoun Kaliend
        • June 19th, 2016

        Ok, thank you very much ^^

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

