Just In Case You’ve Missed Me

^Yeah, I look like China right now. Black eye and everything.

I haven’t posted one of these useless posts in ages. Upon ages. But usually that’s a good thing, because I only tend to post update posts to explain away my absences, and I haven’t had to do that for a while.

For those who haven’t been keeping up with my twitter, (I don’t blame you – usually I just ramble). I had surgery a few days ago, where I had a growth near the roots of my upper front teeth removed, and am still recovering (hence the hiatus). I’m fine and all, but my face is about twice as big as it should be, I’ve got a black eye, and I get dizzy when I try to think (which puts a major damper on my usual activities). So I’m sort of half out of commission at the moment. (*´н`)゛

After that, I was going to say that everyone should help Extra Credits (a web show about video games that’s very well done and thought provoking) because their artist found out recently she’ll have to have surgery, but within hours donations have risen almost to past 200% of their original goal – so now I’ll just have to say go check out the show. [link-to-the-escapist] – I know this isn’t related to Japan or anything, but I wanted to share. ^_^

Back on track for Japan related things: For those interested in the learning Japanese language scene, I found this cool site sort of like Yahoo Answers but just for Japanese language related questions here: [link] I’ve been happily wasting my time answering questions there. >.>

I was inspired by 2ch’s summer rooms so I thought I’d post my own. Before and after – my available space shrunk considerably so Sanya’s my only figure out and about and I’ve kept her in her box. Only my two new figmas are really “out”. At least I have a real bookshelf now ^_^.

Before (Apartment in Austin):

Yes, that’s a ROAD CLOSED sign my roommate took in.

After (Half of a Home Office Room near DFW-Airport):

The real problem is that I don’t have enough space to write anymore. D:

If you’ve noticed the box, I just got Kuroi Mato (黒衣マト) yesterday! After lots of trouble at the post office, I was finally able to get her home. First figma I’ve ever ordered (though Cute beside her got delivered two days earlier). I’ll probably play around more with poses but I got them right before and right after my surgery day so I’ve been out. >.>

Woo~ Dizzy again. You know an odd side-effect of all of this after-surgery business is that when I listen to music and keep beat like I usually do, the blood rushes to my head and I immediately feel drunk and dizzy – It’s almost impossible to translate songs right now XD – I still want to though – see if “on medication” adds anything to the artistic value.

Also, speaking of – at the very moment I was typing that, these arrived via SAL!!!!!

キタ━━━━━(Д゚(○=(゚∀゚)=○)゚Д゚(○=(゚∀゚)=○)Д゚)━━━━━━!!!!

SHIBAYAN!!!

Anyway – I’m going to go pass out.

Oh wait, one last note. I’ve started a forum type thing as an experiment. I haven’t really done anything to it, and I don’t really feel like linking to it until it’s useful, but what do you guys think about a forum for like Light Novel discussion and what not? I was also going to do it for a Japanese language question and answer thing, but the JL&U have got that covered probably much better than I can do alone.

Here’s one last picture:


^All we’re missing from there is Strength (Yuu).

    • thatfpsguy
    • June 30th, 2011

    早く良くなってください

    Do take it easy, bare in mind you’re not supposed to do much of anything after surgery of any kind.

    This Japanese learning site you recommend, as good as it is, it’s a bit too much for newbies like me. Although, I will keep it for reference’s sakes, it can prove to be really useful for certain cases.

    Rest well.

    • Thanks, I’ll try to take it easy – I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it before, but the best place to start learning Japanese for beginners (exactly where I started by the way) is here [link]

        • Chou
        • July 1st, 2011

        I noticed that site a few days ago on the sidebar thing, I must say that I love the fact that you have that linked so much. The site actually makes attempting to learn Japanese quite understandable compared to anything else I had tried before.

        So yeah, really love the fact that you linked to it.

    • exaltdragon
    • June 30th, 2011

    Been kinda whacked out by school work and a local event so I didn’t notice your recent tweets. Hope you get well soon, and you look like a really well-read person from your photos. Also, your room is surprisingly neat!

    • s
    • June 30th, 2011

    Hope you recover from your surgery soon! And the idea of a light novel forum sounds fun. Someday I’ll have to buckle down and import a bunch of books, there’s so much good stuff waiting to be read…

    Also, thank you for taking the time to write that classical Japanese guide with all the helpful charts ^^

    • ninryu
    • July 4th, 2011

    A growth?! Σ( ºДº) Are you okay now?

    • Yeah, I think I’m okay now – My black eye’s starting to disappear and I can almost eat properly again ^_^; A few more days and I’ll be perfectly normal I think :D

      It was one of those things that I didn’t think was much of a problem but the doctor said my face was “going to fall off” (at least all my front teeth would) if I let it be, so… Not that I believe what doctors tell me.

    • Annie
    • July 8th, 2011

    I hope you get better soon. Surgery is tough no matter what kind it is. The good news is that Alison from Extra Credits is going to get the surgery she needs thanks to the massive support from the fans. Go bionic arms!

    I’m amazed with the amounts of books, figures and other stuff in your neat room. It’s very organized.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

