Drive the Night Crazy

Requested by: tastetea

It might be a little confusing because I mixed and mashed the translations by the kanji and stuff because most of this song’s in English/Engrish already – hope it’s not too confusing, >.>

Note:
Both “The meaning of the world you described” and “For things broken to go back the way they were” are tied together by 分けた – which can either mean to break apart, or to understand, so “back together” can either mean “back together with you” or “a return to ignorance”. If the verb were 別れる it would definitely be the former, but the with 分けた it is a bit more ambiguous, though I think it leans towards the latter. It might have something to do with the narrator and her partner’s perception of the night being different – and her partner wants it to be the same.

Drive the Night Crazy
夜が降りてくる~Evening Star|東方萃夢想
Vocal: Nana Takahashi
Arrangement and Lyrics: Linjin
Circle: Cytokine
Album: 1⑨ -Ichimarukyuu-
Event: Reitaisai 8

Hey, please,
turn on my ignition key you have
さあ 夜は来た Night has come

Hey, please
the night will hide everything, so good
さあ 出かけよう So let’s go out

“the day will come.” you said,
but I don’t think so that, you know
もう戻らない There’s no turning back

It’s the truth,
the night will hide everything for you
手を繋いで So take my hand

この夜空を 抱きしめては
ただ美しく 泳ぐ
君が分けた 世界の意味
今ならわかる

Embracing this night sky
Is just like swimming in beauty
Now this way I can understand
The meaning of the world you described

Tell me what do you see?
I’m missing you
このまま どこまで
 Just like this, I wonder how much
夜を 愛せるのだろう?
 Will you love the night?
Tell me what do you feel?
Eye’s missing the rule
瞬き しないで 星と 眠りにつきたい
 Don’t blink, I want to sleep with the stars

Hey, please,
turn on my ignition key you have
何を待つの? What are you waiting for?

Hey, please,
the night will hide everything, so good
さあ 時は来た The time has come

“the day will come.” you said,
but I don’t think so that, you know
もう戻らない There’s no turning back

It’s the truth,
the night will hide everything for you
手を繋いで So take my hand

Tell me what do you see?
I’m missing you
このまま どこまで
 Just like this, I wonder how much
夜を 迎えるのだろう?
 Will you face the night?
Tell me what do you feel?
Eye’s missing the rule
瞬き しないで 君と 眠りにつきたい
 Don’t blink, I want to sleep with you

星の 光よりも 早く
夜を駆けて 君は何が欲しい
分けてしまったのなら 元に戻せばいい
君が望んだだけ

Faster than the light of the stars
We’ll race through the night – What is it you want?
For things broken to go back the way they were
That is all you wished for

  1. Great, as usual <3
    I'm just wondering, how long does it take to translate lyrics? This one could be a faster one because there were many english parts as you said, but wha'ts the average time?
    And I hope it's not inpolite that I ask for a second song I would like to be translated:
    [link]
    Title : Midnight Queen
    Artist : Jeet Singh
    Vocals: ユリカ
    Circle : Crest
    Album : 流月抄 ~ Moon over Mind
    Original : (By ZUN) 亡き王女の為のセプテット
    (Septette for the Dead Princess / Remilia Scarlet's Theme)

    • I’ll add it to the list;
      The shortest it’s ever taken me to translate a song is 10 minutes, the longest it’s ever taken me is 5 hours, but between typing everything up and choosing images polishing, all together it usually takes somewhere between 1-1.5 hours. about 30 minutes of that actual translating. It always depends on the song though – sometimes the fact that there’s a lot of English makes it easier or harder, because the parts need to flow together.

      And as for how long between a song being requested and a song being posted – totally erratic. I have no idea. I’ll say hopefully within a week and it’ll take a month, I’ll say hopefully within a month and it’ll be done the next day >.>

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

