Destin Histoire (GOSICK Opening Theme)


I love the artwork….. *dies*

Full Version Lyrics!!! (French Approximations Corrected 2011/03/01)

I love this song, and I’m throughly enjoying the series. ^_^

Note:
I’m no expert in the French Language, but here’s what I’ve got:
(no vocal) = destin = destiny
ヒストワー = histoire = history
セゾー(ン) = saison = season
ミスティフィカシオー(ン) = mystification (French) = mystification (English)
ラクレファヴェリテー = la clef a verite = the key to truth
マナー = Maintenant (I’ll never understand French pronunciation) = Now (English)
ーゼ = Reposer (French) = Rest/Repose (English)

La clef a verite. Much better than l’crepe verite…. that really threw me for a loop.
As my friend has noted: La clef a verite, should probably be “la clé de la vérité”, I’m just copying what’s in the lyric booklet this time. ^_^
//
Apparently clef is based on clé and is like the English musical clef, musical related – so I’m guessing the lyricist wanted the phrase “key to truth” and also link it to music. It also makes sense for marking time in music. Conclusion, the journey is like a musical score, with each new mark in time the music approaches truth, like a limit! as it becomes history. Waha! Also “certain” is as in “unwavering, unmoving”, an unmoving/unchanging key.

Destin Histoire
 History-Destiny
歌:yoshiki☆lisa
作詞:渡部紫緒
作曲・編曲:坂部剛

ずっと前から 決まっていたような
遠い昔から わかってたような

Zutto mae kara kimatteita you na
Tooi mukashi kara wakatteta you na

As if it were destined since long before
As if it were known all this time

見えない線の 上を辿るように
導かれ 出逢い 交差する Saison

Mienai sen no ue wo tadoru you ni
Michibikare deai kousa suru saison

As if we were travelling on the same track
We were led until we met like two seasons

背中合わせの 光と影のように
強く惹かれる Mystification

Senaka awase no hikari to kage no you ni
Tsuyoku hikareru mystification

It was as if light and shadow were set back to back
I was captivated, drawn into mystification

耳元でささやき 呼ぶ声に振り向けば
気づかぬうちに 開かれてた扉

Mimimoto de sasayaki yobu koe ni furimukeba
Kidzukanu uchi ni hirakareteta tobira

I turned around hearing a whisper, someone calling me;
Before I knew it, a door had opened

少しの偶然と 必然を繋ぐように
動き始めた 2つの Histoire Ah

Sukoshi no guuzen to hitsuzen wo tsunagu you ni
Ugokihajimeta futatsu no histoire ah…

As if tied together by a little coincidence and inevitability
Our two histories began to turn

記憶の糸を 手繰り寄せるように
パズルの隙間を 埋めてくように

Kioku no ito wo taguriyoseru you ni
Puzzle no sukima wo umeteku you ni

As if drawing in threads of memory
As if filling in pieces of a puzzle

語り継がれる 文明にも似た
長い道のりの 先にある Maintenant

Kataritsugareru bunmei ni mo nita
Nagaimichi-nori no saki ni aru maintenant

It was like in those tales passed down to us
Our long journey, like others long before

ひとつひとつの 刹那に刻まれた
揺らぐことない La clef a vérité

Hitotsu hitotsu setsuna ni kizumareta
Yuragu koto nai la clef a vérité

With each moment recorded, one by one
Becomes a certain key that unlocks the truth

手招きされるように 近づけば見える謎
知らず知らずに 巻き込まれて行く

Temaneki sareru you ni chikadzukeba mieru nazo
Shirazu shirazu ni makikomareteyuku

As if it were calling me, the puzzle I see when I come close
Still not knowing, still not knowing, I’m drawn in more and more

まだ知らない世界 新しくめくる度に
解き明かされる 確かな Histoire Ah

Mada shiranai sekai atarashiku mekuru tabi ni
Tokiakasareru tashika na histoire ah…

The world still yet unknown, is with each turn of the page
Revealed, brought into the light in a certain history

いつか 見た夢の奥で
いつも 感じていた Reposer
どこか 儚く 懐かしい 声…

Itsuka mita yume no oku de
Itsumo kanjiteita reposer
Doko ka hakanaku natsukashii koe…

Once deep in a dream
From this repose I’ve always felt
I heard faintly a familiar voice…

耳元でささやき 呼ぶ声に振り向けば
気づかぬうちに 開かれてた扉

Mimimoto de sasayaki yobu koe ni furimukeba
Kidzukanu uchi ni hirakareteta tobira

I turned around hearing a whisper, someone calling me;
Before I knew it, a door had opened

少しの偶然と 必然を繋ぐように
動き始めた 2つのHistoire Ah

Sukoshi no guuzen to hitsuzen wo tsunagu you ni
Ugokihajimeta futatsu no histoire ah…

As if tied together by a little coincidence and inevitability
Our two histories began to turn

ずっと果てなく 続いてゆく…

Zutto hatenaku tsudzuiteyuku…

They continue forever unending…


    • Xav56
    • February 25th, 2011

    “’m no expert in the French Language”
    No problem I can help you cause I’m :3
    Only error you’ve made is this
    “l’crêpe vérité = the crepe of truth”
    Here it’s “La crêpe de la vérité” and yes WTF is this ? °°
    Also “Destin Histoire” is the original title, huhu correctly it’s “La destinée historique” XD

    • :P Well I guess rather than “Engrish” it’s “Flench”?
      I’m glad to see I didn’t make any grave errors…
      No where online could I find l’crêpe vérité, nor ラクレパヴェリテー, but only ラクレパ and ヴェリテー etc… hahaha ^_^;

      In a few days with the lyric booklet we’ll know for sure.

      I’ll stick to knowing two languages (≦☆ω・) KIRABOSHI!

        • Xav56
        • March 1st, 2011

        “La clef a verite. ”
        La clef (or clé, write this of the way of you want) de la vérité is more correct because la clef à verité sound weird oo”

        “Maintenant (I’ll never understand French pronunciation)”
        Try like this “Main- teuh- nan” :3

        Also thanks for these lyrics o>

    • Nijiru
    • February 25th, 2011

    Given that’s you’re translating French into English, I don’t see any problems with how you translated the few ambiguous terms, you got the meaning of what was being said across.

    • Nijiru
    • March 1st, 2011

    Makes more sense now with the updates. Thanks again.

    • Nel
    • March 2nd, 2011

    Thank you for the great translalation! I am sorry for saying to you like this.
    I think you have one mistakes in the lyrics. Here is the part of what I thought.
    Japanese :見えない線の 上を辿るように
    見えない線 literally mean ” unvisible line”
    Japanese : 文明にも似た
    文明 means “civilization”
    似た or 似ている means” (be) similiar to something”.
    I am terribly sorry fo saying unnecessary and blunt thing to you.

    • That’s fine, criticism is good! It helps me catch mistakes too.

      As for the 見えない線, yes it is “invisible line”, line also used often in describing train tracks. I probably should have kept the “invisible” thing in there, but the phrase was so similar to the metaphorical sort of “track” people use in English, I ending up just leaving it that way.

      As for civilization, that part was strange, I’ll admit:
      文明 literally character to character definition is the awakening/dawn-of literature. Which describes, well, what we define in English as the start of a civilization because of various reasons and you can mark it in history, and the civilization has a history then; before literature is “pre-history”. Because the song is all about history, I and the modifier before was “語り継がれる” meaning “to be passed down (as in from generation to generation), I took it to mean tales (of people long before), civilization in the sense of people in the past making history, so that I could tie it into the rest of the sentence and have it still make sense.

      I did the revision bit with a fever/headache and while my internet was going on and off like crazy, so I didn’t make a translation note which I probably should have done to justify that bit, but well – here it is. \(^o^)/

      Don’t worry about being blunt, criticism is cool, it makes me better, and gives me something to ramble about if I think I’m right, or something to fix if it happens that I’m wrong or made a mistake (which definitely happens).

      So, all’s good.

      ♪(*^-^)o旦┏━┓(^-^*)

    • theme
    • March 27th, 2011

    Just wanted to say that I like your translation choice of “as if” for ような and ように. While most translations I’ve seen were using “(it was) like”, I personally would’ve also used “as if”. Maybe a subtle thing, but I was pleased to see someone else translating it this way (and actually posting it).

    Good translation overall, though personally I tend to prefer more literal translations. e.g. 遠い昔から as “since long ago” vs “all this time” (this also parallels nicely with “since long before” of the previous line). Or 動き始めた as “were set into motion” vs “began to turn”, though I guess that uses passive voice that isn’t in the Japanese.

    Anyway, very minor things. I don’t do translations myself but sometimes make personal edits, and just felt like being social for once.

    • Depending on how well I think the end result sounds, I move in and out of literal and non-literal translations. I used to be a much more literal translator, and then I sort of had a major hit when a company I was dealing with for a very long time finally rejected me, saying “Your translations are too literal. You’re missing the point. We can’t use you.” ( ;д;) ・・・・・。 I sort of died inside.

      Anyway, I think there are a couple things important to translation (especially in artistic things like lyrics, poetry, prose..): Preserving meaning, Preserving feeling, Preserving style/structure, End result readability/structure, and End result “sound”. It’s a lot of things to juggle, which is why sometimes I’ll translate the same phrase in completely different ways (D:), why I consider translation an art, and why (thankfully) I don’t think machine translation will ever fully take away my livelihood.

      But yeah, what “feeling” I try to preserve is of course what I feel, so it gets a little ambiguously correct sometimes; Japanese has a completely different structure than English, so if I go literal, readability can be hard to preserve along with everything else, and though trying to capture all angles of the meaning there, inevitably I’ll have to sacrifice something… A lot of the time I’ll lament over not doing a good enough job, especially if I love the song.

      Addressing comments:

      The “since long before” v. “all this time” happened because English doesn’t tend to like repetition unless it’s consistent and rhythmical, so I try to avoid stuff like that except in certain instances.

      “Were set in motion” actually probably works a little better; I was just thinking of “time” in respect to history when I was originally translating it, and this image of a clock ticking came up, and it just sort of ended up that way. ^_^;

      I hope my rambling doesn’t drive away your sociability. (⊃・×・)⊃

        • theme
        • March 27th, 2011

        On the contrary, I appreciate that you responded (and quickly). I completely agree that the choice between more or less literal depends on the content and context. In the end, the point is to capture the meaning (which I think includes feeling/style/structure), and there are so many factors. It is, like you say, an art, and having some poetry background, I recognize the importance and nuances of word choice.

        The thing that does bother me is when official R1 anime releases are too liberal with translations. Sometimes the meaning is changed completely or things are left out. Scripts for dubs are usually even worse, and even the personalities of characters can be affected. I guess complaining here doesn’t do much good -_-”

        I’ll continue to swing by and maybe ramble back or pick at small things again from time to time ^_^ Till then, keep up the good work!

        btw, are you named after the Zetsubou Sensei char?

    • I think I originally chose the name because I had sort of worn out my original net handle and (・ω・) I like Franz Kafka, and I like to be bright on the outside, but not necessarily on the inside, like Fuura Kafka from Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei. I switched around the kanji and and name order to my liking.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

