コネクト // Connect // 魔法少女まどか☆マギカ (Puella Magi Madoka☆Magica) OP

Lyrics for the Full Version!

If you haven’t seen this show yet, you really, really should. You shouldn’t be dissuaded by the fact that it’s a magical girl show, because it has a very different feel to it (to the point it’s put off some of the usual magical girl crowd). It’s beautiful, very much a SHAFT show, psychedelic, sad, very like Faust, the music is beautiful (Kalafina), with Hidamari Sketch-style character designs!!! (X╹_​_​_​_​_╹) (Aoki Ume), which works almost better than it should.

Saying any more would spoil, so I will say nothing more than:
DoN’t YoU wAnT tO bEcOmE a PuElLa MaGi? ( ◕ ω ◕ ) ← Kyuubey is scary….

Also, I’m starting to like ClariS, the OP to OreImo was good too.

Spoilers aside I’m going to say this is Madoka addressed to Mami.

Note:
These aren’t official lyrics, so there’s a small chance of the kanji being wrong or switched with hiragana. I’ll update them if I find any significant inconsistencies after the single is released.

Update: I have matched the lyrics with the official ones, with all the kanji and such – but nothing’s really different other than how the stanzas are structured. I didn’t want to restructure my translation all that much, so I’ve left it as is. ^_^

ずっと明日また is more literally “Forever, (I’ll say) see you tomorrow,” meaning I’ll always say “see you tomorrow” and never “good bye” so I translated it as: “Forever I’ll believe tomorrow that will come” due to the meaning behind it. ^_^
^After looking at a few other 耳コピs I decided to go with ずっと明日待って, “I’ll always wait for a tomorrow”, but if anything it matches the translation more, so I left it as is.

I went ahead and put romaji because this is an anime song, and at least 90% of people searching for anime song translations want romaji.

Don’t worry you people on the waiting list. I’m planning on getting a lot of stuff out this weekend.

コネクト
 Connect

魔法少女まどか☆マギカ (Puella Magi Madoka☆Magica) OP
歌:ClariS
作詞・作曲:渡辺翔
主題化協力:外村敬一

交わした約束忘れないよ 目を閉じ確かめる
押し寄せた闇 振り払って進むよ

Kawashita yakusoku wasurenai yo me wo tojitashikameru
Oshiyoseta yami furiharatte susumu yo

“I’ll never forget the promise we made,” I close my eyes and reassure myself
“I’ll sweep away this oncoming darkness and keep moving forward”

いつになったらなくした未来を 
私ここでまた見ることできるの?

Itsu ni nattara nakushita mirai wo
Watashi koko de mata miru koto dekiru no?

“How long will I have to wait here until
I can see again the future I’ve lost?”

溢れ出した不安の影を何度でも裂いて 
この世界歩んでいく

Afuredashita fuan no kage wo nandodemo saite
Kono sekai ayundeiku

Again and again I cut through these overflowing shadows of anxiety
And keep walking through this world

とめどなく刻まれた 時は今始まり告げ
変わらない思いをのせ 閉ざされた扉開けよう

Tomedonaku kizumareta toki wa ima hajimari tsuge
Kawaranai omoi wo nose tozasareta tobira akeyou

Time, never ending, tells me now it’s time to start
So I embrace my feelings, never changing, and open the gate

目覚めた心は走り出した未来を描くため
難しい道で立ち止まっても 空は 
きれいな青さでいつも待っててくれる だから怖くない
もう何があっても 挫けない

Mezameta kokoro wa hashiridashita mirai wo egaku tame
Muzukashii michi de tachidomattemo sora wa
Kirei na aosa de itumo mattetekureru dakara kowakunai
Mou nani ga attemo kujikenai

My awakened heart races ahead to paint the future
Even if I have to stop on a difficult path, the sky,
Beautiful and blue, is always waiting for me, so I won’t be afraid
No matter what happens, I’ll never stay down

振り返れば仲間がいて 
気がつけば優しく包まれてた

Furikaereba nakama ga ite
Ki ga tsukeba yasashiku tutumareteta

When I turn around, my friends are there
Embracing me before I’d know it

何もかもが歪んだ世界で 唯一信じているここが救いだった
喜びも悲しみも 分けあえば 強まる想い

Nani no ka mo ga yuganda sekai de yuiitsu shinjiteiru koko ga sukuidatta
Yorokobi mo kanashimi mo wakeaeba tsuyomaru omoi

In this world where everything around us is messed up,
 this one place I can believe in has always saved me
As long as we share our happiness and our sadness too, we’ll become stronger

この声が届くのなら きっと奇跡はおこせるだろう

Kono koe ga todoku no nara kitto kiseki wa okoseru darou

If this voice will reach you, I’m sure a miracle will occur

交わした約束忘れないよ 目を閉じ確かめる
押し寄せた闇 振り払って進むよ

Kawashita yakusoku wasurenai yo me wo tojitashikameru
Oshiyoseta yami furiharatte susumu yo

“I’ll never forget the promise we made,” I close my eyes and reassure myself
“I’ll sweep away this oncoming darkness and keep moving forward”

どんなに大きな壁があっても 越えてみせるから
きっと明日信じて祈って

Donna ooki na kabe ga attemo koetemiseru kara
Kitto ashita shinjite inotte

“No matter how large or difficult the challenge, I’ll overcome it!
So believe in a tomorrow, pray..”

壊れた世界で彷徨って私は
引き寄せられるように辿り着いた

Kowareta sekai de samayotte watashi wa
Hikiyoserareru you ni tadoritsuita

Lost in this broken world, I
Arrived as if someone had led me there

目覚めた心は走り出した未来を描くため
難しい道で立ち止まっても 空は 
きれいな青さでいつも待っててくれる だから怖くない
もう何があっても挫けない

Mezameta kokoro wa hashiridashita mirai wo egaku tame
Mizukashii michi de tachidomattemo sora wa
Kirei na aosa de itsumo mattetekureru dakara kowakunai
Mou nani ga attemo kujikenai

My awakened heart races ahead to paint the future
Even if I have to stop on a difficult path, the sky,
Beautiful and blue, is always waiting for me, so I won’t be afraid
No matter what happens, I’ll never stay down

ずっと明日待って

Zutto ashita matte

Forever I’ll believe tomorrow that will come

    • vaespus
    • January 28th, 2011

    Definitely a must watch this season!

    Oh and…Mami D:

    • Jimbo
    • October 5th, 2012

    Actually, the song connect was from Homura addressed to Madoka

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

