幽音絶花、繚乱ノ彩 // Yuune Zekka, Ryouran no Sai // Inanimate Sounds of Severed Blossoms, Spectacle of Color

Some more from Felsic Mirage~! After this I’ll only have 7 tracks left on Felsic, and 18 left in total of all of EastNewSound’s works! Woo!

This is the fourth of Izumin’s particular “format”, (____、__ノ_) which primarily use Chinese compound readings in their titles:
緋色月下、狂咲ノ絶 [link]
 Hiiro-gekka, Hyousai no Zetsu
死奏燐音、玲瓏ノ終 [link]
 Shisou-rinne, Reirou no Tsui
風導星歌、黎明ノ景 [link]
 Fuudou-seika, Reimei no Kei
幽音絶花、繚乱ノ彩 [this post]
 Yuune-zekka, Ryouran no Sai

Notes:
As for the title, I’m translating 幽 as Inanimate, because that’s what ZUN does, but “ghostly, faint, ephemeral, unearthly” work as well.

Also, just putting this out there – it’s really hard to do Izumin’s lyrics justice..
Also, scent is color and color is scent.

幽音絶花、繚乱ノ彩
 Yuugen Zekka, Ryouran no Sai
 Inanimate Sounds of Severed Blossoms, Spectacle of Color
Vocal:茶太[ウサギギノコ] & nayuta
Arrange:黒鳥
Lyric:いずみん
原作:今昔幻想郷 ~ Flower Land
Circle: EastNewSound
Album: Felsic Mirage
Event: C78

永い刻に消えた
視界 染めた花の名

Slowly they vanished,
Both my visible world, and the names of those vibrant blossoms

花弁舞う 色踊る空
二人見上げて
言葉も無くただ眺めてた
幽む記憶

Their petals dance and their colors soar in the sky
We both raised our glances
And without a word, simply stared..
It is for me a vague, enchanting memory…

数多極彩の花ノ雨
眩む香りと花言葉は
星に等しく空を染め
瞬き咲いてた

In a shower of countless richly colored blossoms
The dazzling fragrances, the language of flowers
Like stars took over the sky
Flickering in the light

狂い咲く あの景色
今もただ 忘れない

This scene of such a vibrant, unnatural blossoming
Even now, I simply cannot forget

永い刻に染まった
地平 覆う花の名

Slowly they were dyed
The earth and the carpeting flowers’ names

風に揺られ 歌い踊る色
一人見詰めて
言葉も無く ただ佇んだ
幽む景色

Swaying in the wind, the colors dance and sing
Alone I stared,
Without a word, and simply stood..
It was for me a vague, and enchanting scene…

数多一色の花ノ雨
眩む千香の花言葉が
一つ私に 降り注ぎ
煌めき咲いてた

In a shower of countless singly colored blossoms
The dazzling thousand fragrances, that language of flowers
Washed down over me alone
Sparkling in the light

空へ咲く この花は
あの日見た 君だった

These flowers blossom out towards the sky
And saw you there that day

無限に咲いた 遠い日の景色
想い馳せては
懐かしい空をただこの場所で
今も見てる

Eternally blossoming, that distant day’s scene
Races through my mind, and
That reminiscent sky, by just standing here
I now see again

君が残した花ひとつ
冷たい雫を 浴びては泣き
朽ちて手折れる 向日葵は
種を落とした

You left me a single flower, and
As a cold droplet washed over, crying
This sunflower, withered and bent
Dropped a seed

震う手に 咲いていた
ひと握り 君の影

In my shaking hand it blossomed
In that single grip was your shadow..

数多極彩の花ノ雨
眩む香りと花言葉は
星に等しく空を染め
瞬き咲いてた

In a shower of countless richly colored blossoms
The dazzling fragrances, the language of flowers
Like stars took over the sky
Flickering in the light

狂い咲け この花よ
遠い日の あの空へ

O flower, blossom forever defying
Towards the sky of that distant day

数多一色の花ノ雨
眩む千香の花言葉が
一つ私に 降り注ぎ
煌めき咲いてた

In a shower of countless singly colored blossoms
The dazzling thousand fragrances, that language of flowers
Washed down over me alone
Sparkling in the light

繰り返す この季節
巡り来る 君が居た

Like these seasons ever repeating
Coming and going, you were there..

  1. Been a while since I posted anything here. Nice that you pointed out the link between the four songs. I hadn’t noticed before the links in the names. The first three are definitely amongst my favourites in terms of both ENS’s arrangements and nayuta’s songs(I’ve been a fan ever since I heard her nico nico douga kumikyoku-haruhi impersonation).

    Will definitely be looking forward to haring the fourth in the “series”. Are all of the songs’ lyrics by Izumin? I know the arranging credits are always credited to 黒鳥, is this the case for this fourth song too? Not sure how Chata’s vocals will affect this one.. Thanks for the indirect recommendation, in any case.

    • I’m pretty sure all the lyrics are done by Izumin, but not all the songs are sung by nayuta. Still I was surprised she only made a minor appearance in this album, given that nayuta and Izumin are the only “official” vocalists for the group.. And yeah, 黒鳥 kokuchou did the arrangement for this one too.

  2. I’ve always had the impression, since a long time ago(before c77), that somehow nayuta was getting lesser and lesser appearances on ENS’s CDs. In lyrical crimson she had 2 tracks, then that went down to one in scattered destiny, stayed at one in lucent wish. Then when sacred factor came out she had only one track which was essentially a remix from lyrical crimson (I theorise that basically no new recordings were done?). And then now this is somewhat confirmed, with her only track being shared with Chata(i.e. she has half a track). I don’t know what’s the reason behind her declining role in ENS, be it her personal choice or the decision of the members of the circle. To me, she was always the best vocalist in ENS. Overall, quite sad that this has turned out to be the case, was definitely hoping for more 黒鳥 and nayuta collaborations.

    By the way, might I interest you in these 2 songs made by the 黒鳥 and nayuta combination:

    ◆You- TranceCoreMix- ◇ EastNewSound feat: nayuta ◆(Yes, it’s that higurashi song)
    http://www.nicovideo.jp/watch/sm5069410

    ◆オリジナルアレンジ◆『 サイハテ-heavenly_mix-』◆nayuta&黒鳥◆ (arrangement of a hatsune miku song)
    http://www.nicovideo.jp/watch/sm4543085

    To me, those two were the main reason I liked ENS… Not sure if I still like them.(But it seems like nayuta has joined TAMUSIC, not sure if we will see more of this in the future)

    • I have actually already translated the Miku song after I heard ENS’s version and put it on the site ^_^ [link]

      As for ENS we’ll just have to see. My favorite tracks on the album were ones I didn’t expect to be: “Lazy kiss” and “Intense” (though I still love “囚 -トラワレ-” because of Izumin), and there are some things that are a bit different, but it hasn’t taken a bad turn. nayuta might have just been busy this time around? (She was in 5 albums released in August, 4 for comiket)

      The ENS staff list has expanded to include most of the regulars… either that or my info from before was bad. As long as ENS keeps experimenting and has a sort of “new sound” (as I figure they’re going for) I think they’ll be great.

  3. I guess what you say about them being a “new sound” is quite relevant. I see them as trying to elevate the talent of the vocalists who they collaborate with. First nayuta then Chata and Ritsuka(also a nico signer)..but not all vocal types are suitable for their trance style. Perhaps that’s one reason I didn’t like chata and ritsuka’s ENS songs. Or maybe I’m just biased towards nayuta. Although, as you say, she has been extremely prolific around that time period(also looking at her nico mylist, she has also been constantly posting new songs)..

    Honestly I feel ENS has made quite a niche for itself in touhou music. Their pop-ish trance is not quite as hardcore as alstroemeria records and not as eurobeat as sound holic, a unique situation which is very musically unique. At least for now, I have yet to hear any circle quite like ENS..

    Speaking of the 5 albums, do you have “alternative outing 2010”? I’ve been looking for it but all I found was a bogus download on share.. I would think it’s pretty rare since it’s basically a comiket-only CD. It’s tough to be an overseas fan ^^;

    • alternative outing 2010.
      As it’s a special event only CD packaged with Felsic Mirage, it was unlikely that anyone would get it, (for instance, I sent someone to comiket try to grab such a same CD from Buta-Otome, but they ran out before he got there) but I know it’s packaged with Audio-4U’s Felsic Mirage release.

      It is tough to be an overseas fan. ^^;

  4. I see, thanks for the heads up!

  5. I found and got alternative 2009 winter during RTS7 earlier this year, so I am quite curious as to what they actually do with these CDs. It’s kinda like an omake CD… Come to think of it haven’t even gotten around to listening to alternative 2009 winter. Time to reach for that CD folder.

  6. ORZ. I got confused by SYNC.ART’S alternative 2009. Fail.

  7. I’m late again, but thanks a bunch, anyways!
    Even your old translations still make people happy. ♥

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

