Dress Lyrics / Translation

“Dress”
Album: palette ~人々が愛した幻想郷~ (palette ~The Gensokyo The People Loved~) Disc 2 ~omnibus side~
Arrangement: hiro.na (Syrufit)
Vocals: fi-fy (君の美術館)
Original Song: 二色蓮花蝶 ~ Ancients (Dichromatic Lotus Butterfly ~ Ancients); Reimu Hakurei’s Theme from Seihou Shuusou Gyoku Extra (or 蓬莱人形 ~ Dolls in Psuedo Paradise)

Oh, I got a replacement iPod :D / My mum was great enough to give me reimbursement as a late birthday present. I also was able to get new headphones with my textbook store rebate card. \o/ Awesome-sauce.

I love Alice in Wonderland. You have no idea. You really have no idea.

Anyway, I love the song, I hope you like it too.

Notes:
Kagome Kagome, is like a woven basket… I’m sure you’ve all heard the song. Well – taken from ZUN really: “Cinderella cage” I think, is the best translation ever, so I’m going to use it.

I had a bit of fun with this, so maybe a few things are over-styled, I had to use synonyms when the words repeated again and again though … >.> The subjects I attached the actions to aren’t exactly set in stone, I just put subjects in according to how I saw the song.

If a line sounds confusing, it may be because I’m trying to copy the confusion of the line – well that’s my disclaimer anyway.

YouTubeListenLink: [link]

Dress
Arrangement: Syrufit
Lyrics: SHIKI
Vocals: fi-fy
Original: Shuusou Gyoku – 二色蓮花蝶 ~ Ancients (Dichromatic Lotus Butterfly ~ Ancients – Hakurei Reimu’s theme)

白いドレスひらり うさぎ逃げてく花園
追いかけるあの子は ここまで戻れるかしら
黒い靴鳴らして 歩いてたあの頃には
もう二度と帰れないから

With her white dress a flutter, that child chases a rabbit
Running away into the flower garden; I wonder, can she make it back?
After all, when I walked away black shoes clicking that time long ago,
I was never able to return, ever again.

歪んだ道の奥 歩き疲れた少女は
迷い込んだ先に 何を見つけたのかしら
饒舌な猫さえ 隠れてしまうこの桃源郷
逃げ出したいのなら おいで

Down a twisted road the girl tired of walking.
After losing herself, I wonder what she found?
A Shangri-la, where even that talkative cat lay hidden:
If you want to run away, come.

逆さま落ちる世界にふたり 白黒逆転うさぎが嗤う
沈んで 沈んで 沈んだ この場所でかごめかごめを
飛べずに彷徨う白いその腕 千切れたあの子はもう逃げられない
さよなら さよなら さよなら ここでお別れおやすみよ

Inverted, falling up into this world which becomes two; a rabbit laughs, its white and black colors reversed.
Sinking, falling, fallen – This place is a Cinderella cage.
Unable to fly those white arms are lost.. with your wings shredded child, you can no longer escape.
Goodbye, farewell, sayonara – Now it’s time to say goodbye and goodnight.

ひらりひら舞い上がって 私の羽 紅い蝶々
ひらりひらひるがえして 見せつけるの紅いこのドレス
ひらりひら染まってゆく あの子もまた紅へと
眠りゆく紅い少女 もう癒えない 黒に変わる

Flit flutter ~ Dance above, my wings – a crimson butterfly
Flit flutter ~ Reversed, I’ll show you my crimson dress
Flit flutter ~ Dye, that child again into red
Falling asleep the crimson girl can no longer be saved, she fades to black.

私のお気に入り 紅いドレスと人形
またひとり迷った この子は戻れるかしら
鏡に尋ねても 紡ぐ言葉は同じね
「もう二度と帰れないから」

I like her, this red dressed doll
Again, alone she’s lost and I wonder, can she make it back?
Even if she asks the mirror, its words will be the same –
“You’ll never be able to return, ever again”

「どうして?どうして?」囁く声 目を閉じ嘆いた少女へうたう
おいでよ おいでよ おいでよ 怖がらず手の嗚る方へ
惑わすこの道奈落の底に 鬼さんこちらと囃して笑うの
誘え 誘え 手招き 蓮の花開く頃には

“Why? Why?” she whispers, I close my eyes and to the sighing girl sing
Come child, come now, come here – without fear towards my clapping
“I’ll lead you astray, down this road to the depths of hell,” the devil says, “this way,” and sneers.
Tempt her, lure her, beckon her – to the place where the lotus flower opens.

逆さま落ちる世界にふたり 白黒逆転うさぎが嗤う
沈んで 沈んで 沈んだ この場所でかごめかごめを
飛べずに彷徨う白いその腕 千切れたこの子はもう逃がさないわ
さよなら さよなら さよなら これでお別れおやすみね

Inverted, falling up into this world which becomes two; a rabbit laughs, its white and black colors reversed.
Sinking, falling, fallen, this place is a Cinderella cage.
Unable to fly those white arms are lost.. with your wings shredded child, you can no longer escape.
Goodbye, farewell, sayonara – Now it’s time to say goodbye and goodnight.

ひらりひら舞い上がって 私の羽 紅い蝶々
ひらりひらひるがえして 見せつけるの紅いこのドレス
ひらりひら染まってゆく この子もまた紅へと
眠りゆく紅い少女 もう消えない 黒に変わる

Flit flutter ~ Dance above, my wings – a crimson butterfly
Flit flutter ~ Reversed, I’ll show you my crimson dress
Flit flutter ~ Dye, that child again into red
Falling asleep the crimson girl can no longer be saved, she fades to black.


    • Nijiru
    • April 22nd, 2010

    Thank you for another awesome translation for one of Syrufit’s songs. Just wondering, have you done any of their other works besides Wheel?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

