DesireDrive

So, this album rocks. I don’t know if I’ll do all of it (probably not) but I really liked this lyrics and just had to jump on it.

Buta-Otome and probably some Sally will be on the way next-ish.

Notes:

There is healthy emotional and sexual desire to be found in these lyrics, layered in. Just keep that in mind.

Particularly: “just tracing the outlines…” which didn’t translate well duals as “running through the world not having the time or chance or want to seek the substance of those outlines (also read as “prove anything”), at the same time not falling into the trap of over analyzing and seeping into caring over “nameless emotions”.” and also as “I’ve been familiarizing myself with the contours of your body.” (lol. I know right?) The positioning in respect to the preceding stanzas suggests the first meaning (because it flows with the theme) but the actual precise wording really -really- suggests the second, and the next stanza with “filled with the fragrance of night” (just guess) also ties in with the second.

I struggled really hard for getting the right voice in this song, so a lot of stuff doesn’t match up literally, but trust me, I wasn’t just throwing words around.

DesireDrive
デザイアドライブ|東方神霊廟
古きユアンシェン|東方神霊廟
歌・作詞:ichigo
編曲:岸田
サークル:岸田教団&THE明星ロケッツ
アルバム:JP
イベント:例大祭9

ねえここからでたいの 誰にも追いつけない程遠くへ
名前のない感情 知りたくもない 消してしまいたい 摘み取られる前に

nee koko kara detai no dare ni mo oitsukenai hodo tooku e
namae no nai kan’jou shiritaku mo nai keshiteshimaitai tsumitorareru mae ni

Hey – I wanna leave this place, go so far away no one will ever catch us.
I don’t want to even hear about nameless sentiment,
 I’d rather rid the world before everything good is gone.

冴えた月の色に染まる 小さな花
囚われた願いを託す

saeta tsuki no iro ni somaru chiisa na hana
torawareta negai wo takusu

A small flower is dyed in the color of the clear moon;
I leave it my imprisoned desire.

どうしようもなく救いのないこの世界を生きていくの
だからせめて君のその手を離さない、いいでしょ?
真理なんて関係ないの 目を閉じて祈るだけじゃ嫌だ
弾かれるように求めるだけ

doushiyou mo naku sukui no nai kono sekai wo ikiteyuku no
dakara semete kimi no sono te wo hanasanai, ii desho?
shin’ri nan’te kan’kei nai no me wo tojite inoru dake ja iya da
hajikareru you ni motomeru dake

We’re living through a world beyond our control, no hope of redemption.
So at the very least, I’m never gonna let go of your hand – Isn’t that alright?
“Truth” has nothing to do with it – The hell if I’m just going to close my eyes and pray!
I’m going to shoot forward and chase what I want!

ああ 何かを証明することなんて 途方もなくおもうよ
ねえ いつしか 明日が来ないように ただ輪郭に馴染もうとしていた

aa nani ka wo shoumei suru koto nan’te tohou mo naku omou yo
nee itsu shika ashita ga konai you ni tada rin’kaku ni najimou to shiteita

Ah – There’s no point in proving anything – It’s absurd!
Hey – At some point I just started living like tomorrow’d never come, just tracing the outlines…

夜の匂いで満たされる小さな部屋
囚われた君を探す

yoru no nioi de mitasareru chiisa na heya
torawareta kimi wo sagasu

In this small room filled with the fragrances of night
I search for you, imprisoned.

どうしようもなく終わりのないこの一瞬を生きていくよ
だからせめてそばに居て欲しいよ ねえ、いいでしょ?
倫理なんて関係ないよ 失ってばかりはもう嫌だ
果てしない方へざわめくだけ

doushiyou mo naku owari no nai kono jikan’ wo ikiteyuku yo
dakara semete soba ni ite hoshii yo nee, ii desho?
rin’ri nan’te kan’kei nai yo ushinatte bakari wa mou iya da
hateshinai hou e zawameku dake

We’re living through this endless instant now, beyond our control.
So at the very least I want you to stay with me – Isn’t that alright?
“Ethics” has nothing to do with it – The hell if I’m going to keep losing everything I have!
I won’t stay quiet as I struggle toward what’s neverending!

戻れない場所に焦がれ 思いを馳せ
囚われた明日を掴む

modorenai basho ni kogare omoi wo hase
torawareta ashita wo tsukamu

Burning passionately for what we cannot return to, thoughts racing
I grasp at our imprisoned tomorrow.

どうしようもなく救いのないこの世界を生きていくの
だからせめて君のその手を話さない、いいでしょ?
心理なんて関係ないの 目を閉じて祈るだけじゃ嫌だ
弾かれるように求めるだけ

doushiyou mo naku sukui no nai kono sekai wo ikiteyuku no
dakara semete kimi no sono te wo hanasanai, ii desho?
shin’ri nan’te kan’kei nai no me wo tojite inoru dake ja iya da
hajikareru you ni motomeru dake

We’re living through a world beyond our control, no hope of redemption.
So at the very least, I’m never gonna let go of your hand – Isn’t that alright?
“Truth” has nothing to do with it – The hell if I’m just going to close my eyes and pray!
I’m going to shoot forward and chase what I want!


  1. Do I hear/read Sally?? xD
    In that case, Chata will be happy if you translate the first or last one of Sally’s album xD
    In any case you don’t have the album yet, here is http://www.putlocker.com/file/9B9FDAC73367F490 it comes with booklet

    Btw, thanks a lot for your hard work translating Abandoned Dancehall, you sure made many people happy :3

      • Acellutor
      • June 6th, 2012

      No wonder why I hate Sally. Just like Skrillex, people keep think him as the only one alive making dubstep *when it isn’t dubstep in fact* and compare everyone to him.
      Not like I hate them both, but, can you as well as 90% of this damn humanity stop for once and all?

      • Sally does dubstep? o.o;

      • I’m more of a fan of the off-note guitar solos/beats and weirder sounding stuff of Sally (some of the lyrics are great too). Friend I know says it sounds extremely like early Mars Volta (said this song sounded like ‘em too) but I’m not really sure myself.

    • chinkonkyoku
    • June 5th, 2012

    Did you notice that in the second chorus, something else was sung instead of “一瞬”? I think it was “jikan” or something.

    On other things, what track from monochome-coat’s “es” will you translate first?

    • This is what I get for not checking romaji when I’m flying through stuff – yeah it’s just pronounced jikan. D:

    • Gabe
    • September 12th, 2012

    Im kind of lost, I just ended listening to this song on youtube, and now that I love it, I don’t know if it’s a band, from a videogame, anime, an arrangement or what.
    Where’s this from?

    • The simple answer is “this song is a band’s arrangement of music from a video game”. The long answer is:

      This song is a dual arrangement of both デザイアドライブ “Desire Drive” and 古きユアンシェン “Furuki Yuan Shen”, the level and boss themes for Stage 4 of 東方神霊廟~Ten Desires (Touhou Shinreibyou – a vertical scroll shooter game), programmed/composed by ZUN.

      There’s a consensus that ZUN makes games primarily so he can make music for those games (which he’s incredible at), and after over 15+ games the franchise has blossomed into an incredible fan-universe, with the characters and music extended and made more intricate by fans.

      岸田教団&THE明星ロケッツ “Kisida Kyodan and the Akeboshi Rockets” have done many Touhou arranged albums, but they also have released original music and some anime openings (HIGHSCHOOL OF THE DEAD).

      I suggest you continue researching, it’s a deep rabbit hole, but it’s very rewarding. :D

        • Gabe
        • September 13th, 2012

        Cool, Touhou! This universe is HUGE! Thanks a lot!
        BTW if you are into it, can you help me figure this out?
        I love the “Destined Marionette” song from cool&create artist Beatmario, but I don’t know what’s the original song from Touhou he remixed, I couldn’t figure it out. Not even looking for it harder on google or touhou wiki.

      • That one’s actually a “Beatmania-Style” original arrangement (Beat Mario’s first one), written October 2nd, 2002. [info-source] ^^

    • gaben
    • September 13th, 2012

    kafkafuura :
    That one’s actually a “Beatmania-Style” original arrangement (Beat Mario’s first one), written October 2nd, 2002. [info-source] ^^

    Thanks! I always though it was somehow related to Touhou!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 807 other followers

